1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Finding erase size issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by daiflu, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. daiflu

    daiflu Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    3
    0
    25
    Shanghai
    I feel pretty stupid asking, and the fact that I searched and found nothing, make me feel even more stupid, since nobody else seems to have had this problem.

    So I'm wanting to root my phone, and spend a couple of days reading over the information, and it seems pretty simple as long as you follow the step by step guide right? Well I can't even get started!

    Ok, so I'm getting the essential information of my phone. I get this:
    Android version
    2.2
    Baseband version
    32.49.00.32U-5.11.05.27
    Kernel version
    2.6.32.15-g5d39305
    htc-kernel@and18-2#1
    Build number
    2.26.1400.3 CL275408 release-keys
    Software number
    1.0.0.A8180
    Browser version
    WebKit 3.1

    OK, so then go to check Hboot version, PVT and Erase size:
    BRAVO PVT4 SHIP S-ON c
    NBOOT-0.93.0003

    Because the PVT4 I follow the instructions on getting the erase size.
    I download and install terminal.apk then enter cat /proc/mtd but when I hit enter it just clears the line and nothing happens.

    It seems like a simple instruction, so what am I doing wrong?
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Odd occasions it just doesn't work.

    Go to the adb and fastboot faq in the root sticky thread. Set up adb shell as outlined in there.

    Then plug in device and start adb shell. Use the same command as terminal emulator and you should get a result
     
  3. daiflu

    daiflu Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    3
    0
    25
    Shanghai
    Thanks for the suggestion.
    I followed the adb faq, but had problems starting the shell.
    First I connected the phone and selected recovery from the bootloader, I get a black screen with a picture of a phone and red triangle with caution sign, not sure what this is, but there was no way to exit and I had to remove the battery, then tried connecting the phone not in recovery and got the following messages:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\OSIRIS>adb shell
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    error: device not found

    C:\Users\OSIRIS>adb shell
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    error: device offline

    C:\Users\OSIRIS>adb shell
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    error: device not found

    C:\Users\OSIRIS>adb shell
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    ADB server didn't ACK
    * failed to start daemon *
    error:

    C:\Users\OSIRIS>adb shell
    adb server is out of date. killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    error: device not found

    Not sure what's going on, but I'm not having much luck today.
     
  4. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    uninstall whatever android managers and stuff you have on the currently
    typical culprits of this are myphoneexplorer and droidexplorer
    they are good but can cause issues sometimes
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    ..and for this task as you are not rooted, being in recovery will do you no good. So Android must be running (Just to narrow it down a little).
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...