1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Firesheep & Android

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Politik, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. Politik

    Politik Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    On the browser you can use Https. Anyone know whether firesheep can get account info from a mobile phone using the facebook/gmail apps on a wifi network?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. drifter136

    drifter136 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    39
    1
    16
    Winnipeg,MB
    I just asked this question on the CM forums after nothing came up in a search there, and this was the only result here. REALLY surprised there isn't more discussion about this issue in the mobile community, as it seems like a pretty huge issue. A global setting in the OS to force everything (browser, apps, etc) to use HTTPS would be huge, but I've yet to find one.

    Firesheep seems to be primarily targetting social networking, which are the websites using their own apps and circumventing any browser settings you might be using.
     
  3. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Problem with forcing HTTPS is, that not all servers and browsers will accept connections over HTTPS without a valid security certificate. And some servers deny the connection entirely. So its not a very good solution, as it only works in certain circumstances.

    If you are worried about your information being secure on your phone over the internet, buy a mobile data package from your carrier. That's really the only foolproof method.
     
  4. AmneonX

    AmneonX Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    391
    44
    63
    http://www.androidwaypoint.com
    Michigan
    Just tested this in class. I signed on to an access point with my droid x and my professor said that it popped up on his firesheep screen.
     
  5. Gettobingbing

    Gettobingbing Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I need your help, because when I try to use Firesheep, it don't work and it's written an error code and this message :
    "Failed to set hardware filter to Promiscuous Mode"
    My Wifi card is : D-Link DWA-652
    My programs are :
    Firefox 3.6.12
    Wincap 4.1.2
    Firesheep 0.1-1
    Windows XP SP3
    Note : I do not make problems to other people with it ! I need it at work. Help me please ! Thanks a lot ! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...