1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Firmware too new?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DrGreene, Dec 19, 2011.

1. DrGreene

DrGreene Newbie

I can't seem to root. I've been at this for hours, I've uninstalled nearly all the apps that I am able. What do I do know. My Android version is 2.3.3.

Please help me.

There is an alert in my bar at the top of the screen telling me that USB debugging is connected. Does that matter?

If I had HTC Sync installed on my computer, would I be able to see it in my uninstall programs box?

I'm a lost noob. I really want to root this phone. What do I do?

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. esthernrob

esthernrob Android Enthusiast

this is the procedure that you want to root your phone..

ROOTING For Dummies Guide.....the Gingerbread Edition

ocnbrze and argedion like this.
  3. argedion

argedion The TechnoFrog

Read the Guide at least 3 times before attempting. Also make sure to download the files needed prior to starting. Anything that you don't understand please ask. The only dumb question is one not asked. We can get you rooted.

ocnbrze likes this.
  4. DrGreene

DrGreene Newbie

I've already started. The tool gives me the error about forward being too new.

5. argedion

argedion The TechnoFrog

What is your Hboot?

6. ocnbrze

ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!

if your hboot is 2.15 or 2.16, you will need to use revolutionary. just follow the guide linked earlier. it sounds like you are trying to root with unrevoked which will not work with the newer hboot. it only works for hboot 2.10 or less.

also you do need to have usb debugging turned on on your evo. also make sure it is set on charge only as well. just follow the guide from start to finish.

any questions you have please feel free to ask.

argedion and DrGreene like this.
  7. DrGreene

DrGreene Newbie