1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Firmware Update Today Has Screwed Up Email App

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by charliehowes, May 20, 2013.

  1. charliehowes

    charliehowes Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #832
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    117
    6
    36
    This morning I've received a 70 odd mb firmware update which has completely screwed up the stock email app.
    When trying to compose an email now it just keeps jumping back in what I'm typing making it gibberish ?
    Has anyone else had this ?

    I'm in the UK on EE
     

    Advertisement

  2. DanDroide

    DanDroide Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #253
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    I don't have my S4 yet BUT my experience on android says to try a FDR (Factory Data Reset).

    Good luck!
     
    Atma likes this.
  3. swampymc8

    swampymc8 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    59
    1
    16
    nr manchester
    Got update this morning as well. Email ok. Dont no 8f me but phone seems a lot quicker
     
  4. charliehowes

    charliehowes Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #832
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    117
    6
    36
    Cheers for the replies folks. Gonna have to wait, haven't got time this week to be doing a factory reset ffs :(
     
  5. charliehowes

    charliehowes Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #832
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    117
    6
    36
    If I do a factory data reset will it delete the firmware update I had today so then I'll be back to square one when it prompts me to download it again ?
    Also is there a quick and easy way to do this or will it just reset the phone back to how it was when I first took it out of the box ?
     
  6. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #242
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    872
    205
    93
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Charlie,

    Firmware updates stick with the phone. Once you have downloaded and installed, when you do a factory reset, it resets back to the latest update. So no, you will not be back to an "out of the box" state.

    BigRedGonzo
     
    charliehowes likes this.
  7. charliehowes

    charliehowes Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #832
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    117
    6
    36
    Cheers for the reply BRG.
    Will I have to reinstall everything again and re-do all of my settings ?
     
  8. ScandaLeX

    ScandaLeX Wasn't Me
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,829
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    3,829
    966
    223
    Female
    PhiLLy
    Yes unless you have a backup.
     
    charliehowes likes this.
  9. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Android Expert
    Rank:
     #242
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    872
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    872
    205
    93
    Male
    Process Engineer
    Winston-Salem, NC
    Typically, yes, you will have to reinstall everything, but the Play Store will normally reinstall everything that you had installed at its last sync. I have seen this work and have also seen it not work, but it is supposed too.

    Before you FDR, go to Settings>Apps and touch the All tab at the top of the screen. Scroll down and find the stock email (or gmail) which ever is giving you the issue, and tap on it. Clear cache and data, exit out of settings, power down your phone and restart. See if that helps any. If it does, you may save yourself the frustration of setting everything back up. If it does work, you haven't lost anything but a few minutes time.

    Good Luck,
    BigRedGonzo
     
    charliehowes likes this.
  10. DanDroide

    DanDroide Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #253
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    568
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    There are many backup programs. I use "My Backup Pro" but I still have to reload apps after a FDR.

    I have my Contacts set to use Google for backup and sync ...not Verizon. I also do the same with my Calendar. Once I log in thru Google, boom...it's all there.

    But, for the little bit of effort, I have found things usually run better. I actually enjoy doing it once in a while, believe it or not.
     
    charliehowes likes this.
  11. trparky

    trparky Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    692
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    I've been using Helium myself to make backups of apps and data. No root required. Though, on a non-rooted phone you have to activate Helium using a desktop app that you have to run with the phone connected to your computer with ADB enabled.
     
    charliehowes likes this.
  12. Tomo1971

    Tomo1971 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    Sep 2, 2011
    131
    22
    38
    Male
    Telecoms Engineer
    Fife, Scotland
    The bug as described seems to affect a few people. Try the swype keyboard, that's reported to fix it ( not swiftkey though)
     
    charliehowes likes this.
  13. charliehowes

    charliehowes Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #832
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    117
    6
    36
    I'll try Swype mate. I use Swiftkey and that's what it's playing up with.
     
  14. aks1979

    aks1979 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011

    Apr 11, 2011
    17
    0
    35
    what is the firmware version pointing now after this update?
     

Share This Page

Loading...