1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Firmware Update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by danielunde, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. bucketbass

    bucketbass Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    74
    3
    16
    Ase Master Auto Tech
    Central, Fl
    So a guy I work with has a stock connect. He did the whole 2 hour ordeal at the store and at the end he is still on ZVA. I believe if on 840V need to go to VV5 and regular 840's are just fine on ZVA. We will all see soon enough.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ohbaby

    ohbaby Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    162
    17
    48
    Male
    NY, NY
  3. kiroshi23

    kiroshi23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    352
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    352
    31
    43
    Male
    student
    new york
    yes you can i did that you just need to not be rooted and stock
     
  4. connect4lover

    connect4lover Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013

    Jul 29, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Male
    pa
    inglewood
    Oh ok! Yeah I'm still on zva after i went to the corporate store!! But i think my kernal has been changed. Its different from before.. phone doesn't heat up as much as it used to and. on top of that battery life is up like 30-40 percent depended on what is off and on
     
  5. DNRDustin

    DNRDustin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    198
    37
    43
    Male
    Code Monkey @ Software Developer
    Nor-Cal
    Sure, depending on your location, zva will continue to work. Fact of the matter is, regardless of what version your phone is, you should and can be on vv5. Shattetproof has released a vv5basebandUpdate.zip and vv5 stock/rooted cwm recovery. ldrifta has a new rom#2 Based off of the vv5 baseband. and I have a noob frien dly guide to update from your current rooted ROM to vv5 without a computer.. root required ;)
     
  6. ohbaby

    ohbaby Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    162
    17
    48
    Male
    NY, NY
    I'm kinda surprised, Shatterproof's awesome update to VV5, isn't very popular.

    I would have thought there are many users still on ZVA. I guess they all updated via computer already.

    And this is such an easy upgrade to do,.... thanks to your instructions Dustin.

    Well at least there is one happy camper who is grateful of the work. :party:
     
    Shatterproof likes this.
  7. SegamanXero

    SegamanXero Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Yeah no clue why corporate is not updating the first gen Connects to VV5. I am running it and it has been great. If something bad was to happen with the software, I do still have a protection plan via Best Buy, which I would use if shit hits the fan.

    I actually rolled back to stock from Idrifta's Number Two v2.0 as bluetooth was broken. Had some finickiness with CWM not restoring a backup I had. I had to retry the restore several times to get it to work. Phones okay now though and restore worked in the end, so all is good now.
     
  8. DNRDustin

    DNRDustin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    198
    37
    43
    Male
    Code Monkey @ Software Developer
    Nor-Cal
    I am on a first gen connect as well, and have never been as satisfied with my phone and service and battery, yada yada, as I am now on vv5. They just want your money, plane and simple.
     
  9. ohbaby

    ohbaby Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    162
    17
    48
    Male
    NY, NY
    VV5 is such an improvement over ZVA, I really feel no need to give rom #2 a try. I just debloated and I am quite happy. Call me crazy, but I kinda like the stock theme and set up.
     
  10. SegamanXero

    SegamanXero Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Yup thats why I have put my foot down... The next phone I get will be a Nexus... Unless that is, I win a random phone in a contest or something.
     
  11. NIKKISLAYER7

    NIKKISLAYER7 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013

    Feb 22, 2013
    13
    2
    16
    Male
    I just got a Nexus 4 and am using T-Mobile ($30 unlimited text, unlimited data - 5GBs 4G speed and 100 minutes) and am loving it. Google lowered the price of the Nexus 4 by $100 which made it an instant buy for me. With the Nexus 5 rumored to come out in less than a month, I would start looking for a drawer to put your Connect :p
     
  12. BlueMuscles

    BlueMuscles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    267
    15
    38
    Female
    NYC
    My connects software says MS840ZV9 and the build is GRK39F.

    I never got the update because the clowns at the metro store are clowns.

    I notice everyone mentions ZV but never mention ZV9 which is what I have.

    Do I have the update or not ?

    Thanks
     
  13. justenjoy

    justenjoy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012

    Apr 4, 2012
    181
    20
    38
    Automotive Technician
    North America
    That is a very old version of our phone. If you take your phone to a Corporate Metropcs Store they will do the update for you.

    Now if your phone is root'ed then that is something that you chose to do and will have to update the phone manually by flashing it with a version that you choose.

    Hope I helped.
    JEnjoy ;)
     
  14. jpsantiago0389

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    7
    2
    6
    Go here for instructions and download links. Make sure you read the instructions carefully
    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?t=695800
     
  15. BlueMuscles

    BlueMuscles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    267
    15
    38
    Female
    NYC

    Hey guys

    First off thanks for the replies..appreciate it.

    My phone isn't rooted, so will this link to do it myself work ?
     
  16. jpsantiago0389

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    7
    2
    6
    Yeah, it'll work, you don't need root for that method. Just make sure you read carefully every step and follow exactly as is; that's how it worked for me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...