1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Firmware Update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by zixxorb, Jul 5, 2014.

  1. zixxorb

    zixxorb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    311
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014

    Apr 28, 2014
    311
    55
    73
    Male
    Employee
    On the moon
    Today my Event told me it had a firmware update and was downloading it (about 30 minutes ago). However I cancelled the download.

    Does anyone know anything about this update? Am I going to loose root? And if so, does anyone know if I can get it back?

    So far, I haven't seen this mentioned anywhere else online so I figured that I'd ask here.

    If no one knows what it does exactly, is there a way that I can make a back-up then upgrade and compare the two? Maybe even downgrade?

    And another thing, could this help at all with unlocking the boot loader?

    Last but not least, do you recommend that I go ahead and update? And has anyone else updated yet?
     

    Advertisement

  2. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    Yes be very cautious cause I did a update to my tablet brand new and it had a 4.4.2 update . now the WiFi messed up, rotation is messed up and battery life is now a problem with the tablet . they said send in we will refund u the money . when I asked the manager told me that the update was a problem and they wont have fixed no time soon.so watch out with updates .
     
  3. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    738
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    738
    228
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    The update worked for me. Pulled my Event out of storage and rerooted it, as I was playing with a few ROMs with my LG Optimus F3. The only thing I noticed was an extra option for using the phone as a hotspot/tethering. Otherwise works the same as before. Don't pay attention to that other poster.

    If you can, download the update via wifi.
     
  4. cranphin

    cranphin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014

    Jul 18, 2014
    7
    1
    6
    Can anyone confirm that the July 2014 firmware update for the Kyocera Event won't brick/break a rooted phone?

    I'm worried that the update might be a byte level patch, which could break any modified phone :) (as opposed to a file level patch, which will probably work, or a full image patch).

    Perfect would be if any uber wizard could find the patch file and see what it is ;)

    Bonus points if anyone can find out the changes in this patch, or a link to official release notes?

    Thanks! :)
     
  5. cranphin

    cranphin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014

    Jul 18, 2014
    7
    1
    6
    Hi!

    Did you root it before or after the update?
    Did the update 'unroot it' ?
    Did you have any other changes to the system partition other then having it rooted? e.g. uninstalled system apps etc.

    What was the relevance of this? Is this why you had it in storage or so?

    Thanks! :)
     
  6. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    738
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    738
    228
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    No need to worry. My Event is fine. I upgraded to the F3 because it was on sale, and I could justify my own
    reasons for using it.

    The noticeable difference is that tethering is included with this update. It will update even if you have removed a lot of the extra software that is preloaded. Poot and ministro will still work to root the phone, as will any other method known to work.

    Have a nice day. :)
     
  7. cranphin

    cranphin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014

    Jul 18, 2014
    7
    1
    6
    Hmm.. I still don't trust it :D

    Figured out where the update files go before they update it, it's in '/cache/delta/', when it's still downloading it looks like this:
    Code (Text):
    1. drwx------    2 system   system      4.0K Sep  3 10:10 .
    2. drwxrwx---    5 system   cache       4.0K Sep  3 10:03 ..
    3. -rw-------    1 system   system       240 Sep  3 10:03 .block_header_buf.bin
    4. -rw-------    1 system   system       574 Sep  3 10:10 .delta_header_serial
    5. -rw-------    1 system   system        26 Sep  3 10:03 .header_buf.bin
    6. -rw-------    1 system   system        82 Sep  3 10:47 .offset_serial
    7. -rw-------    1 system   system        81 Sep  3 10:03 Alt-OTA_dlcomplete
    8. -rw-------    1 system   system     59.9M Sep  3 10:47 temp_android_delta.bin
    9. -rw-------    1 system   system     13.4M Sep  3 10:10 temp_boot_delta.bin
    10. -rw-------    1 system   system         0 Sep  3 10:03 ueclient_running
    What worries me is that it's in a folder called 'delta', and has several files called ...delta.bin. Suggests to me that it might still be a binary level filesystem patch, the kind that really don't like you having messed with the filesystem ;) (Even if you may get lucky? :) )

    Mayby I'll stick those files on dropbox or so when their done, I can't figure out what is in them, mayby someone else can :)
     
  8. cranphin

    cranphin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014

    Jul 18, 2014
    7
    1
    6
    It's done now (downloading, I'm still not updating :p )
    These are the resulting files:
    Code (Text):
    1. drwx------    2 system   system      4.0K Sep  3 11:44 .
    2. drwxrwx---    5 system   cache       4.0K Sep  3 10:03 ..
    3. -rw-------    1 system   system       240 Sep  3 10:03 .block_header_buf.bin
    4. -rw-------    1 system   system       574 Sep  3 11:44 .delta_header_serial
    5. -rw-------    1 system   system        26 Sep  3 10:03 .header_buf.bin
    6. -rw-------    1 system   system        82 Sep  3 11:44 .offset_serial
    7. -rw-------    1 system   system        81 Sep  3 11:44 Alt-OTA_dlcomplete
    8. -rw-------    1 system   system      5.5K Sep  3 11:44 amss_delta.bin
    9. -rw-------    1 system   system    117.8M Sep  3 11:44 android_delta.bin
    10. -rw-------    1 system   system     13.4M Sep  3 10:10 boot_delta.bin
    11. -rw-------    1 system   system         0 Sep  3 10:03 ueclient_running
    I've put these on my dropbox for now, if anyone is interested.
    I'd love to know what these files are/contain exactly :)
    Also, they're not gonna stay in dropbox forever, feel free to mirror and post a link to them for the benefits of others ;)
    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/qhs95pdy8e6h8mq/AADrxEiPCk-HQDYlWFMiljx7a?dl=0
     
  9. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    738
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    738
    228
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
  10. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    738
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    738
    228
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    Had some time yesterday to mess with my Event. Got a notice to update the firmware, so I let it load. Took about 50 minutes for my phone to get the entire thing. Yes I know I'm hosting the file on my Dropbox... was a little lazy about loading it. Did a bit of homework for classes while it loaded and installed.

    Once rebooted, I got an error message saying it wouldn't load. I think in another thread, someone said that enough of the system software needed to be present to make the update work. Anyway, not a big deal for me. My phone works fine, and at least I have the latest system update. I pulled out my phone to use as a streaming device/backup to my LG Optimus F3.

    My Event is still rooted. Does anyone have the update with root privileges?
     
  11. zixxorb

    zixxorb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    311
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014

    Apr 28, 2014
    311
    55
    73
    Male
    Employee
    On the moon
    I get the same error message.
    I wish we could figure out a solution to this.

    Another idea, can this firmware update possibly help us get custom roms? Like modify the update files to do something (like install a custom rom or something)
     
  12. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    738
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    738
    228
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    I highly doubt it with this phone. Getting a custom ROM on any Android device is only worth the effort if the bootloader can be unlocked, or an exploit like Loki is proven to work for a particular device. Firmware updates don't usually help with unlocking the bootloader, unless the manufacturer allows it with an update.

    Loki is the exploit that's worked with several Samsung and LG devices, including the LG Optimus F3 (my daily driver). There's still no custom ROM for the F3; all the ROMs out for it are based on the Jelly Bean 4.1.2 source for that phone. Several custom recoveries do work for the F3, including a TWRP and a couple of CWM based ones. There is one dev trying to make a CM based rom, but last time I checked, it's failing to boot up fully.

    So, same story as always for the Event/Rise... :rolleyes:
     
  13. zixxorb

    zixxorb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    311
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014

    Apr 28, 2014
    311
    55
    73
    Male
    Employee
    On the moon
    This sucks lol. I wish we could make some progress...
     
  14. zixxorb

    zixxorb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    311
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014

    Apr 28, 2014
    311
    55
    73
    Male
    Employee
    On the moon
  15. cranphin

    cranphin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014

    Jul 18, 2014
    7
    1
    6
    Might be able to answer part of my own question, since I found this:
    Find and update the software version on your Kyocera Event

    1.010VM 06/11/2014
    • Mobile ID client updated to support downloads over Wi-Fi
    • Sprint Zone Enabled
    1.005VM 05/09/2014
    • Initial release

    My phone is still at 1.005VM, which is 'stock', I assume the new update is the '1.010VM' :)

    Can people report what version their at? Especially on rooted phones? :)
    The version shows in 'Software version' in 'About phone' in the system settings.
    If it still shows '1.005VM' the update did not take :)

    Cheers!
     
  16. srglassw

    srglassw Member
    Rank:
     #558
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    55
    21
    18
    Male
    British Columbia, Canada
    My software version shows as 1.020VM. I had an update pushed to my phone a few weeks ago. Mine is from Virgin Mobile and not rooted.
     
  17. daffyducknj

    daffyducknj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    738
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    738
    228
    133
    Male
    odd jobs atm
    NJ, USA
    Great, but I noticed that your location is in Canada. That version may not be pushing to Virgin Mobile users in the U.S. I haven't gotten a notice recently with my Event. Mine is still at 1.005.
     
  18. srglassw

    srglassw Member
    Rank:
     #558
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    55
    21
    18
    Male
    British Columbia, Canada
    Should have mentioned, my eVent was purchased in the US and is Virgin Mobile US not Canada.
     
  19. zixxorb

    zixxorb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    311
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014

    Apr 28, 2014
    311
    55
    73
    Male
    Employee
    On the moon
    I'm rooted and my version is 1.005VM. It shows the update but I get that damn error message upon restarting after the download finishes. :/
     
  20. zixxorb

    zixxorb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    311
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014

    Apr 28, 2014
    311
    55
    73
    Male
    Employee
    On the moon
    Firmware version 1.020VM?????? I can understand the country differences but two whole updates ahead of me? no fair XD
     

Share This Page

Loading...