1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root First Droid Bionic ROM Released! (Deodexed and Debloated)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tehsusenoh, Sep 21, 2011.

  1. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1

    Advertisement

    YankeeDudeL, johnlgalt and OutOfPhase like this.
  2. markhamr

    markhamr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    77
    6
    16
    Just an FYI, I believe saw kejar on twitter requesting that people posting the ROM on forums other than RootWiki to link people to that thread where he posted it: [ROM][CWM] Deodexed Debloated Bionic
     
  3. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1
    I'll change it.
     
  4. BenDroid

    BenDroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    200
    13
    58
    Wow, loving how fast the devs are working on this. I still haven't rooted, but am planning on it as soon as some ROM's start popping up. Really new to the whole bootstrapping and all of that. Doing research on that daily. Coming from the OG spoiled me I guess.
     
  5. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Downloading ... and ... flashing.
     
  6. Russellmaniakw

    Russellmaniakw Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    100
    21
    38
    Can someone tell me what "deodexed" means?
     
  7. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1
    Here's a summary.

    Google is your friend!
     
    Nehemiah, YankeeDudeL and OutOfPhase like this.
  8. p8ntballah21

    p8ntballah21 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    263
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    263
    59
    53
    Looks and performs the same, I guess that's a good thing:thinking: lol
     
  9. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    857
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    857
    64
    78
    Student
    Georgia
    Do i need to unfreeze my bloatware?
    Or just flash it?
     
  10. hunterwrot

    hunterwrot Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011

    Jan 1, 2011
    169
    11
    38
    Grassy Gator Lawn Care
    St. Augustine, FL
    Good news. I am going to wait til a custom rom comes out to play around with. From what i read this cant brick my phone. Where is the fun in that?

    With my dx i had about 30+ bricks. Needless to say rsd lite was my favorite app.
     
  11. tehsusenoh

    tehsusenoh Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    929
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011

    Jun 17, 2011
    929
    385
    133
    Student
    127.0.0.1
    You need to unfreeze everything. Just install the zip, no cache clearing required.
     
    sx4dude2013 likes this.
  12. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    No. You do NOT have to unfreeze anything. Just flash over top your current ROM. Awesome!!! Everything will still be frozen when you reboot.

    Just make sure to make a nandroid backup first, right? ;)
     
  13. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    521
    128
    93
    Web Application Programmer
    Northern Virginia
    Unless you do something stupid like I did... I froze the stock launcher with TiBu (Home 1.something) and moved my replacement launcher, Launcher Pro, to system. So when I installed the deodexed ROM (by Kejar), I didn't have a launcher on my system because the stock launcher was frozen and my replacement launcher was gone.

    Needless to say, it was a pain in the ass to figure out how to get back into recovery to restore my backup without having to go back to factory. But I learned my lesson.

    Hopefully my experience will help someone not to do the same... :D
     
    YankeeDudeL and messenger13 like this.
  14. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    857
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    857
    64
    78
    Student
    Georgia
    Well in that case Ill just unfreeze everything to be safe! lol
     
  15. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    While your "experience" made me say "DoH!!!", then smile devilishly :p ... I also APPLAUD YOU for sharing your experience. We've all been there /done that, right?


    Not sure if it's just me, but my Bionic seems like it is FLYING today ... faster than ever! Did this ROM actually increase performance, or am I just imagining things?
     
  16. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    521
    128
    93
    Web Application Programmer
    Northern Virginia
    Thanks Joe.

    Yeah, I felt pretty stupid as I should know better by now (4 rooted, customized Android phones later). Fortunately I am pretty comfortable with ADB, so I was able to recover after a bit of head scratching.

    Agreed, my Bionic seems to be very snappy as well after the deodex. Doesn't make sense as in principle deodexing shouldn't actually make anything faster... I'll chalk it up to placebo. :cool:
     
  17. Ja5on L

    Ja5on L Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    So I did this, and now I have no sounds, and can't make calls unless I use skype haha. Not sure what the deal is, back to stock and will flash this new rom see what's up :)
     
  18. Le0_Br4zUc4

    Le0_Br4zUc4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    325
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    this is great, I also see it here
     
  19. islandfever

    islandfever Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    I am confused on these two ROM options...one says stuff about wiping and system formatting and the other says no wipe is needed...

    Trying to get my crap straight before I try doing this.

    Any advice?
     
  20. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,023
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,023
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    I have installed both. First was the deodexed and debloated. It didn't have the social networking which I use so I flash just the deodexed. Both times I did not wipe.
     
  21. islandfever

    islandfever Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    8
    0
    5

    You mean youre running the debloated now?

    I am assuming the debloated has less apps on it right?
     
  22. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,023
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,023
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL

    I am running the deodexed and bloated. the debloated is missing social networking, all the vcast apps, blockbuster and bunch of other apps that most people don't use.

    You can flash just the deodexed and then freeze the apps you don't want with titanium backup.
     
  23. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    857
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    857
    64
    78
    Student
    Georgia
    YELP!!!!
    I lost root by flashing, do I just need to re-root? Anyone else have this problem? Superuser was missing so I installed from the market and now it just FC's on me :(
     
  24. RDKamikaze

    RDKamikaze Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    254
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    254
    57
    73
    Unknown
    AMAZING!! I'm digging the development speed on this phone :) Thanks for sharing, I hope this means tons of ROMS start popping up in the near future ;)
     
  25. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,023
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,023
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    I have not had this problem but When it comes to the superuser acting up I don't wait for something bad to happen. I would flash the minimal fxz with rsdlite, reroot, restore backup and try again. The download might have been bad. Did you wipe first?
     

Share This Page

Loading...