1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root First root has gone wrong...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jmelick07, Apr 16, 2011.

  1. Jmelick07

    Jmelick07 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    So I just rooted my Evo and was trying to flash cynogenmod 7 and I got into the boot loop issue. I have been trying to get it to now boot into the restore image (using clockworkmod) and it says it was restored sucessfully but when it boots it gets stuck on the white "htc evo 4g" screen... Any help?
     

    Advertisement

  2. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    Do u do a nandroid
     
  3. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC

    Ok you were going from sense to aosp...did you wipe everything before you flashed it? If not wipe boot, system, data, cache, dalvik cache and re flash
     
  4. mdizzle99

    mdizzle99 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    418
    108
    68
    So I am a bit unclear still, were you able to boot into recovery (by turning on the evo by holding volume down and the power button)?

    Once you are in recovery we can do a few things from there to help - many of which are listed above my post. It would help if you could provide the information listed above as well. So here are the things to tell us.

    1. Can you get into recovery? (volume down and power button)
    2. Did you make a nandroid backup before flashing cm7?
    3. Did you follow the install instructions EXACTLY for installing cm7? Meaning did you do a complete data wipe, cache wipe, dalvik wipe, etc.

    Once we have those answers we can take it from there.
     
  5. Jmelick07

    Jmelick07 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Ok, I think I figured out what was wrong, I did a full wipe and it now loads in to CM7 fine, only problem I have with it is the battery life seems to be weird (still in my first few days of use so i'll give it time) and the gps won't turn on at all (nothing in the status bar).

    Also to flash other roms do I just have to put them on the sd then boot into recovery and open them up through there doing a complete wipe everytime?
     
  6. GoofyGirl

    GoofyGirl Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    61
    4
    16
    So Oregon Coast
    Before you do anything (new roms, etc) always always always always make a nandroid!!!!! ALWAYS!!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...