1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root First time using EB01 SC 2.4 and have some questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by triple486, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. triple486

    triple486 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    57
    1
    16
    Just flashed SC 2.4 voodoo rom and have some questions about it.

    1. how do you delete the home screen?
    Tried to figure out but can't find the way.. I have 5 home screens now.. which is too many for me.

    2. how can you customize shortcut on the bottom (a grey box that have call, app list, browser icon)? sry its kinda similar question as #1.

    3. What kind of launcher does Superclean rom use? when i see task manager, icon looks like Touchwiz.. but overall interface and app list look like ADW.. but doesnt have ADW options though.. I'm confused.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jamesnmandy

    jamesnmandy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    343
    34
    43

    you're right, all of the features you mention are included in apps like ADW and LPP. As last I checked Adrenalyne actually uses a version of ADW in his SuperClean rom which is what you installed, but the settings you would normally be able to change are not available by default, he chose the settings like how many home screens and what shortcuts are on the launcher dock and you cant change them, or not easily

    i think you should look into purchasing ADW EX from the app market and if i am not mistaken you can install it after having installed Superclean 2.4 for instance and then get all the functionality you are wanting
     
    triple486 likes this.
  3. triple486

    triple486 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    57
    1
    16
    I can't change how many home screens and what shortcuts are on the launcher dock?
    eh... that is weird.
    I don't want to run 2 launchers at same time (stock in SC rom & LP or ADW)
    If I use launcher pro or adw, stock launcher will be running in background? running 2 launchers will consume more battery and RAM?
     
  4. Don S

    Don S Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    629
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    629
    180
    93
    Male
    Bayville, NJ USA
    On 2.1 stock it's "Menu" , "Edit Page" . then just select the little red "-" to delete a screen. Different on 2.2?

    [​IMG]
     
    triple486 likes this.
  5. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    http://androidforums.com/fascinate-all-things-root/205635-goodbye-touchwiz.html
    If you dont like the one he includes merely replace/delete it. Thats what I always do since I am just too used to LP+. Take just 30 seconds or so in Root Explorer. Nice thing about 2.2 is that you dont get the imfamous FC uses either
     
    triple486 likes this.
  6. karib

    karib Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    504
    30
    78
    Female
    Dental Assistant
    IL
    You can use Titanium backup to "freeze" the launchers(s) you don't want running on your phone.

    Editing the amount of screens is easy as the guy above showed. Its the same concept with adw-ex, which is what I'm on. Now as far as what is on your dock... long press on the icon and drag it to the trash if you don't want that shorcut there and then add what you want in its place.
     
    triple486 likes this.
  7. triple486

    triple486 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    57
    1
    16
    This SC 2.4 voodoo rom has new red cwm in it.
    If I manually turn off and boot into recovery it shows me red cwm.
    but, if I reboot into recovery through Rom Manager, it shows me old green cwm...

    any idea how to fix it, guys?

    I tried moving original recovery-update zip out of clockworkmod folder and then copied update.zip file in my sdcard to clockworkmod folder and rename it recovery-update.zip, and it still doesnt work.

    those update.zip and recovery-update.zip had same modified date and file size anyway.. so i assume those are same file. where can i find new cwm update.zip?
     
  8. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    dont use rom manager to boot into recovery...flash a rom/theme with reboot options...or if you do get to green recovery...go to advanced and reboot recovery it ll go to red
     
    triple486 likes this.
  9. grin0048

    grin0048 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010

    Sep 28, 2010
    184
    35
    43

    I think that the launcher in the eb01 sc roms is the gingerbread launcher.
     
    triple486 likes this.
  10. reisb

    reisb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    398
    9
    36
    So what's the advantage of switching to the SC? I am currently on deodexed EB01. I know SC has bloat removed. What else? I'm getting pretty good battery now and have read of battery issues on SC2.4. Any advantage of going to voodoo now instead of later?

    Also, I can just delete ADW and run LP? Just asking since my TiB restore all my icons/settings in LP so I will probably want that rather than layout again with ADW.
     
  11. triple486

    triple486 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    57
    1
    16
    another issue came up.
    When I connect my phone to USB as MASS STORAGE, phone doesn't recognize usb or something wrong with usb detection..
    sometimes, it shows usb connected on notification on top.
    most of times, it doesn't show anything..
    is is a bug of SC 2.4 rom?
     
  12. nunyazz

    nunyazz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    644
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010

    Sep 7, 2010
    644
    90
    98
    Nope... works fine for me.
     
  13. MJMcMahon

    MJMcMahon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    105
    8
    36
    IT Network Engineer
    Boise, ID
    triple486 -

    I ran into a similar issue yesterday....I ensured that 'MASS STORAGE' was selected in the USB options and rebooted and that seemed to fix it.
     
    triple486 likes this.
  14. reisb

    reisb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    398
    9
    36
    Thoughts?
     
  15. lasportsfan

    lasportsfan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    88
    1
    16
    I've been running sc 2.4 for a couple of days now and so far its been flawless. Couple of questions when you make a nandroid in recovery does it restore all your apps and app data? I'm still wary about using TiBu after the last fiasco sent me back to odin. Second is there a way to replace the lockscreen? I think its the aosp lockscreen I like I would like to use that one instead.
     
  16. karib

    karib Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    504
    30
    78
    Female
    Dental Assistant
    IL
    Yes, a nandroid restore would bring back EVERYTHING as it was when you made the backup. Apps, data,settings, etc.
     
    lasportsfan likes this.
  17. reisb

    reisb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    398
    9
    36
    Also, anything specific if going from deodexed EB01 to SC2.4 with voodoo? or do I just backup, wipe data, wipe cache, flash rom, done?
     
  18. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #43
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,400
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,400
    3,144
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    Newbie question.

    Can I make a backup BEFORE the phone is rooted and preserve the way it is now?
     
  19. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,848
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010

    Nov 7, 2010
    1,848
    130
    163
    NC, USA
    Nope you need clockwork to make a backup
     
  20. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,848
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010

    Nov 7, 2010
    1,848
    130
    163
    NC, USA
    Note before response I'm not responsible for anything that happens ;)

    I did not wipe data between eb froyo to sc voodoo froyo and I have had no problems. But this is just my phone I can't speak for what will work with all phones. Everything else you said sounds good. A big part of froyo voodoo is patience. It does take a while after it flashes for the phone to boot. Juat don't battery pull and you should be good :D
     
  21. triple486

    triple486 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    57
    1
    16
    I've been having bad battery life since last week.
    I had DJ05 Superdark rom & Stupidfast kernel when the bad battery issue came up.
    So, install EB01 SuperClean 2.4 Voodoo, but Battery still sucks.
    Is this because I used Rom Manager to install EB01 SC 2.4 rom?
    I checked on wipe data/cache when i install SC through Rom Manager.
    Rom manager didn't wipe old data properly, so I'm still having bad battery?

    Tried script on xda, but still bad..

    Should I wipe data/cache in red clockwork, and reflash SC 2.4 voodoo?
     
  22. reisb

    reisb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    398
    9
    36
    I'm just confused. I remember reading all these warnings in the past about "Be careful if going to voodoo. don't if you don't know what you're doing. etc. etc".

    Though it seems I install just like I would any other rom. Is there a step I'm missing?
     
  23. triple486

    triple486 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    57
    1
    16
    Can you make your own thread if you have other questions?

    I started with questions in OP and you asking your own questions with different topic from the title of this thread.
     
  24. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    we usually say these warnings more out of habit from the issues of old voodoo than anything else....still i think whenever you do something to your phone, you should know exactly why you are doing; what it does to your phone; and be able to recover from it if there is issues.

    again with my standard root advice: everyone who roots should install the android sdk and have some understanding of adb...id say way less than half of the root crowd does this..and i consider it pretty lame they dont...but thats just my .02 :rolleyes:
     
  25. reisb

    reisb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    398
    9
    36
    This is a help forum and the title of thread is SC2.4 and having questions. Sorry, but that will bring other users who are having questions with SC2.4. It saves from having 50+ threads with similar problems.

    Triple, you've asked 12+ questions in this thread, most of which I think have been answered. Try "thanking" people who help you and letting others get help who need it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...