1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

First to Brick?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mcadam, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. mcadam

    mcadam Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    119
    33
    43
    Male
    South Jersey
    Haven't found anyone else that has bricked their Droid yet.

    I was trying to change my status bar color and dropdown color. Used terminal emulator to take the apk from my sd card to the phone. rebooted, now i'm bricked.

    i'm stuck at the motorola logo.

    tried doing the 2.0.1 update again, but I get an error mentioning corporate calendar, which I deleted off the phone. whoops.

    any ideas? look like i'll be at verizon tomorrow.
     

    Advertisement

  2. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    506
    19
    63
    Northwestern PA, USA
    Not a helpful post.. but OUCH..

    I'll be sure to be careful if I root..

    If you can't find a fix, just play dumb with Verizon.. " Uhhh.. my phone done did died and I don't have no idea why?!" ..Lmao works every time:p
     
  3. nicallen63

    nicallen63 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    129
    4
    36
    myspace.com/soulswitchrocks
    Orlando, FL
    Just found this online, it might help.

    Unbricker
     
  4. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,635
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    3,635
    2,126
    313
    Multi-platinum Rapper
    Illinois
    Have you tried booting into recovery mode? You can do a factory reset from there I believe.

    Boot holding down X, press volume up and camera simultaneously when you see the exclamation mark.
     
  5. sooper_droid12

    sooper_droid12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,228
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    1,228
    73
    128
    What's Verizon going to do for you? You rooted your phone thus voiding the warranty. Good luck with that!
     
  6. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    506
    19
    63
    Northwestern PA, USA
    Which is why I said play dumb. Usually at the Verizon stores they do not check such things.. they see a dead device and replace it. Over the phone, this may not work. I completely bricked a Blackberry by installing a badly put-together hybrid(along with a few others at Crackberry), and had no problem getting a new one at the local Verizon outlet.
     
  7. Zoompy

    Zoompy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    21
    0
    15
  8. mcadam

    mcadam Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    119
    33
    43
    Male
    South Jersey
    Tried booting into recovery. I tried the factory reset option (I don't remember the exact wording), but it didn't help. It ran through everything, but I still got stick on the moto logo.

    Took it to the big V today and they were able to flash it to stock firmware. Works like a charm.
     
  9. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Woohoo! That's good news. :)
     
  10. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    506
    19
    63
    Northwestern PA, USA
    Hmm.. sounds like the experts out there should be able to find out how they did that.. There really needs to be a program out there that can flash an Android phone via PC(or Mac).
     
  11. VeryApe

    VeryApe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    118
    3
    36
    Systems Administrator
    Lancaster, PA
    Details? What did they use to flash it, a dock/usb cable/sd card/bannana?

    I would have been leaning over that counter like a sum'bitch trying to find out ;)
     
  12. mcadam

    mcadam Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    119
    33
    43
    Male
    South Jersey
    I wish I could have seen. The tech took it into a back room.
     

Share This Page

Loading...