1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Fix coming 6/15.... or now

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ocbooger, Jun 11, 2011.

  1. ocbooger

    ocbooger Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    54
    6
    16
    Schererville, IN

    Advertisement

    mimedic, SeekerOfTheWay and dangerous like this.
  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    It has already been posted here but someone thinks it belongs in the root area
     
    dangerous likes this.
  3. ocbooger

    ocbooger Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    54
    6
    16
    Schererville, IN
    Yea, I saw it after I posted.
     
  4. Romikemi

    Romikemi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    141
    23
    38
    OFL
    It causes a data wipe. That can't be recommended to non-root users. Once you root, you've got Titanium and you can 100% get back upright and locked.

    Just think of the lost Angry Birds stars. Gasp.
     
  5. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Guess what no matter if you do it now or wait till official release you will have to wipe your data. So I will take the first over some stupid game progress. :rolleyes:
     
  6. JustinHEMI

    JustinHEMI Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    538
    151
    103
    Male
    Senior nuclear reactor operator
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Why? In tall the updates I ever had I never had my data wiped, why would this one?
     
  7. ocbooger

    ocbooger Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    54
    6
    16
    Schererville, IN
    I installed it earlier today, I just backed up everything with astro. I'm more upset about losing my progress In plants vs zombies but not really a big deal. OTA won't wipe your data but you can almost be sure that you will have problems down the road without a clean install.
     
  8. redraider1

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,532
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    1,532
    195
    143
    Because this isn't an ota so it will wipe your data. Otherwise wait for the ota and then it wont wipe your data.
     
    JustinHEMI likes this.
  9. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I just did the update and it fixed my wireless tether issue I was having. it would just re connect all the time and wouldnt let the computer connect. I would much rather do it now and fix this rebooting issue than to wait for them to send out an ota. So so far so good. They did add a lot more bloat to it.
     
  10. CharlzO

    CharlzO Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    993
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011

    Apr 2, 2011
    993
    205
    123
    Male
    Computer Programmer
    Such as? Was hoping someone would take the plunge and share the stories :)
     
  11. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Vcast app,Vcast media,Vcast music, Vcast videos. Is all that I noticed when I open the menu.
     
  12. ryank262

    ryank262 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    25
    1
    16
    Can you organize apps into folders in the launcher?
     
  13. dressagerider

    dressagerider Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    103
    12
    48
    Just checked and was prompted I have an update....installing now and can't wait to see what it does for the phone as I am considering changing the thunderbolt for the droid charge. I have 5 more days in my 14 day trial and really love the tb, but the battery is terrible.
     
  14. robrecht

    robrecht Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    284
    41
    43
    Senior Manager, Scientific Communications (pharmac
    Where are you located? Let us know your software number when its done updating.
     
  15. dressagerider

    dressagerider Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    103
    12
    48
    I am located in South Carolina. I am still not seeing an option to switch the phone to 4g or 3g and really not noticing any differences.

    Software numbers
    Android 2.2.1
    kernel version 2.6.32.21-gb05544a
    software number 1.13.605.7
     
  16. robrecht

    robrecht Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    284
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    284
    41
    43
    Senior Manager, Scientific Communications (pharmac
    That's MR1, not the coming MR2.
     
  17. dressagerider

    dressagerider Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    103
    12
    48

    I wonder why I am just getting this update? I have had the phone for 10 days.
     
  18. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Because they pulled that ota update but guess not the manual ck. You can install the leaked update by downloading it. On the main phandroid site they have a write up on it and where you can download it. It's a 420 meg file. Thy have all the instructions on how to do it and its easy.
     
  19. SeekerOfTheWay

    SeekerOfTheWay Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    607
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011

    Jun 12, 2011
    607
    80
    78
    Bealls
    Florida
    Looking forward to MR2 on the 15th. I have random reboots but can wait a few more days.
     
  20. ekyle

    ekyle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,773
    108
    143
    Male
    Software Engineer
    Central NY
    Me too. Mine came without the update that caused the random reboots though, so I was hesitant to download it on the off chance it was the one cause the problems. I'll run the update when I get home now that I know others are getting it.

    BTW I've ran several manual check over the last week I've had it and this is the first itme something has come up...

    UPDATE: Just read the posts after that. I won't update until MR2 starts rolling out. I'd rather not deal with the reboots. :/
     
  21. mimedic

    mimedic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    WHEN I restart w/ power button and volume down then what ????
     
    outjet likes this.
  22. ocbooger

    ocbooger Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    54
    6
    16
    Schererville, IN
    It should automatically start loading the file, It will ask if you would like to update. Hit power button to accept and then wait for it to install. Make sure you delete the .zip after it installs.




     
  23. mimedic

    mimedic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    Thx still get white screen with hboot and so on
    Will wait for OTA I guess
     
  24. snoopy2699

    snoopy2699 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    73
    3
    16
    Hopefully 6/15!..not holding breath though.

    People that are using Netflix now, does it stream in HD if you have a strong 4g signal? It should be fast enough to do so if the company allows it.
     
  25. ocbooger

    ocbooger Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    54
    6
    16
    Schererville, IN
    I had problems getting it to Install when I first tried. I ended up downloading the file from my phone and used astro file manager to edit it and move it to sd card.


     

Share This Page

Loading...