1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Fix Permissions?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by islandfever, Sep 21, 2011.

  1. islandfever

    islandfever Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Can Fix Perm be safely run from Rom Manager if we are rooted with Bootstrap etc?
     

    Advertisement

  2. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    i've ran it a few times without issues so far
     
  3. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    Did it do anything?
     
  4. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    I dont get any errors if thats what you mean. I see it fixing over 200 things. I do it every so often out of habit that I did on the droid.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. bigbabys

    bigbabys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    490
    116
    88
    Personal Account Manager
    Largo, FL
    What does fixing permissions do?
     
  6. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    Fixing permissions as far as I know fixes problems often associated with Force Close errors. When files updated or written by the Android OS they are often written so you can for example read only. The files are changed to 755 access which allows you to read, execute, and write to the file. This can clear any problems programs have when accessing files. This is how I am perceiving it and may not be correct. Its what I know from my unix/linux noob days. Someone with more knowledge can come enlighten us.
     
    bigbabys likes this.
  7. bigbabys

    bigbabys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    490
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    490
    116
    88
    Personal Account Manager
    Largo, FL
    I know about permissions in linux, I was just curious about what about the default permissions in android needed to be changed. If it's fixes force closes I don't care though! Sounds good :p

    Maybe someone can explain further as to why permissions would need to be "fixed" and also, what app is allowing you to do it? I can only do it through CWR.
     
  8. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    I use Rom Manager which I hope Koush updates for the Bionic so we can use that for recovery purposes.
     
  9. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    521
    128
    93
    Web Application Programmer
    Northern Virginia
    Dumb question, but what are you guys using for screen shots these days? I used to use drocap2, but it appears that it is no longer available in the market. I stopped using a separate app since CM7 had it built in on the Thunderbolt.

    Thanks in advance...
     
  10. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    I still use drocap2. Are you sure it's not in the Market? Maybe I just had a backup in TiBu Pro. I have a habit of archiving stuff. ;)
     
  11. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
  12. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    Hm...that's drocap2 on my Bionic >.>...got it right off the market...
     
  13. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    521
    128
    93
    Web Application Programmer
    Northern Virginia
    I "may" have it on my computer in one of my backup folders... But no, it doesn't appear to be in the market any longer (at least I can't find it). Can someone link to it?
     
  14. amageus

    amageus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    439
    85
    53
    ya i cant seem to find it on the market now
     
  15. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    521
    128
    93
    Web Application Programmer
    Northern Virginia
    Thanks for checking. I'll go through my backup folders when I get home...
     
  16. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    Look up a couple of posts...^^^^^^

    a link to drocap2 and another called screen shot
     
    PerCompLLC likes this.
  17. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    521
    128
    93
    Web Application Programmer
    Northern Virginia
    Awesome! Thanks! Going with Drocap2 as I used it for my OG and DX and I'm completely comfortable with it... :)
     
  18. SNeitzel

    SNeitzel Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    637
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    637
    102
    93
    Well if you were like me, you were spelling in wrong.
    It's DROCAP not DROPCAP.

    :cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...