1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [FIX]Volume/Media bug fix

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Austrie, Oct 1, 2011.

  1. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Not sure how much this works for everyone being as this is only my first trial trying to fix this bug.

    You need to have init.d support, so you will either have to have Umph kernel or a custom ROM with Umph kernel(i.e. Princely ROM). So you place the file in a custom ROM folder directory, system/etc/init.d, but do not unzip the ROM, then follow what ever the steps are for flashing that ROM. If you are not using a Custom ROM, and is just using Umph Kernel, then get a file explorer that can use read and write access to edit system folder(i.e. root explorer or astro file explorer). Make sure you have read and write access, Go to system, then go to etc, look for a init.d folder, if there isn't one then make one called 'init.d' then place the file in that folder then reboot.
    If the Umph kernel only way doesn't work then try it through custom rom.
    Anyway i'll try to keep looking into this......

    Download: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=WMKITIZZ
     

    Advertisement

    Rezanow and punkmaxx like this.
  2. punkmaxx

    punkmaxx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011

    Aug 23, 2011
    475
    291
    88
    Male
    Music Producer, Arborist, General Contractor
    West Virginia
    Whats the volume bug? I don't think I've encountered it yet.
     
  3. tetious

    tetious Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011

    Oct 1, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    If you are listening to music via headphones (or anything, really, it even affects audible, and things like Pandora) and a notification sound plays, the volume of the music is permanently reduced, almost as if the headphone amp was disabled.

    Sometimes removing and reinserting your headphones fixes the issue, but the only way I've found to fix it every time is to make a phone call with your headphones plugged in, wait long enough for them to answer, and then hang up. Many folks use customer service and hang up right after the silly Virgin Mobile sound clip that plays right when they answer.

    As to this fix, I don't understand what renice-ing has to do with this. What made you go down that path, out of curiosity?

    I'd love to see this fixed, as it is extremely irritating. :)
     
  4. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Well there's two volume bugs, one that is listed above by tetious, the default one, and also the one when using autokillers, this fixes the autokiller one, not fully sure about the default one. Unless someone wants to test it AND report back.
     
  5. punkmaxx

    punkmaxx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011

    Aug 23, 2011
    475
    291
    88
    Male
    Music Producer, Arborist, General Contractor
    West Virginia
    well apparently i do remember experiencing..... this thank for the fix austrie!
     
  6. marx2k

    marx2k Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    51
    6
    16
    now if only i could get media via headphones that didnt blast my head open with the volume
     
  7. jordonwii

    jordonwii Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    72
    3
    16
    Student and hobbyist programmer
    Washington
    +1. I'd rather the volume permanently be at the reduced volume.
     
  8. Rezanow

    Rezanow Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011

    Aug 11, 2011
    11
    5
    16
    The way I fix it is to cause another sound, in some other app. For example, the Twitter app makes sounds when it refreshes your timeline. That's typically enough to kick the volume in my Music/Pandora app back up to full. I pause the song, switch to Twitter, refresh the timeline, then go back and start the music again. Full volume.

    Anyhow, I will give this fix a shot and report back.
     
  9. slider6996

    slider6996 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011

    Aug 26, 2011
    117
    2
    36
    None ya
    Temple Texas
    i noticed that when i changed the lock sound to the car lock thing the sound is reduced when i lock it but if played normaly in phone its pretty loud, would this be related? but like i said its normal when played through phone but when the sound is actually used to lock the phone its not nearly as loud, i played with a few sound settings but still a no go, on stock it was fine though.
     
  10. Chairshot215

    Chairshot215 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    767
    669
    163
    Male
    Test hardware, software fo company named Field Dia
    Illadelvall Pennsy
    Generally clearing your notifications will also return the volume to normal.
     
  11. Hornbeam

    Hornbeam Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011

    Nov 19, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Uninstall voip apps if installed. Restart system. everything will get back to normal.
     

Share This Page

Loading...