1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Fix]- VVM on all sense 3.5 Roms

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NaterTots, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. NaterTots

    NaterTots Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    704
    581
    183
    Plumber
    CT
    This is not mine and use at your own risk and all that stuff.

    I thought this may be interesting to keep and eye on. I haven't tried it as I'm not on a Sense 3.5 Rom at the moment.


    Thread link and OP from XDA.

    [Fix]- VVM on all sense 3.5 Roms - xda-developers

    Ok, I love all of the new roms we've had our great developers dropping on us. But on most of the 3.5 roms sprints visual voicemail doesn't work, due to sprint not having an offical 3.5 rom we have to use other carriers ports.

    Anyways I figured out a way to get vvm to work on any 3.5 rom, here you go;

    1. Have a titanium backup of a working vvm (with a couple voicemails on it)

    2. Restore it to whatever 3.5 sense rom you want.

    3. Reboot into recovery wipe cache,dalvik then flash attached .zip file.

    4. Once phone is rebooted, install the attached .apk.

    Let me know if anyone has issues!, I've tested this on a few different 3.5 roms, works fine on all of them.

    Note- I have had a couple of times after flashing different fixes that it breaks vvm, if you get force closes, just reinstall the .apk and it will work again.


    http://forum.xda-developers.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=844716&d=1325856108

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=844717&d=1325856108
     

    Advertisement

  2. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    I use Google Voice for my voicemail but I have seen so many people having trouble with Sprint VM, it's nice that someone put this out there for those individuals using Sprint VM:)
     
  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    nice thanx for the heads up.
     
  4. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I never realized there was a problem with Sprint VVM on the 3.5 roms. It works perfectly on Supersonic3D. I still get the annoying 9016 text like I was on an AOSP rom, but I can live with those. ;)

    Thanks for the fix! :D
     
    ocnbrze and dustwun77 like this.
  5. NaterTots

    NaterTots Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    704
    581
    183
    Plumber
    CT
    Yeah, I think that the Supersonic RC 1.2 is the only one that has it working.

    I guess Mik knows what he is doing.;)
     
    ocnbrze and dustwun77 like this.
  6. jon.u113

    jon.u113 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011

    Feb 14, 2011
    87
    25
    23
    what if you dont have a buckup from titanium?
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    do you have a nandroid backup with all of your apps? you can nandroid back to it then use titanium backup to back your apps then nandroid back to the current(make sure to do a nandroid backup beforehand) rom and the restore your apps with titanium backup.
     
  8. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    Anyone mind explaining how you go about using the Sprint VVM? I'm sure the mikg rom I'm on has it, but hell, I have never once used it. Anyone care to enlighten me?

    This is a good find by the way (OP), not trying to go off topic, just thought it was pretty close to related ;)
     
  9. NaterTots

    NaterTots Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011

    Aug 24, 2011
    704
    581
    183
    Plumber
    CT
    9-5, if you put the voicemail app on your home screen, when you get a VM it will have the message dl'ed to the phone with the name of the person who left the message.

    Well if they are in your contacts list.
     
  10. 9to5cynic

    9to5cynic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,873
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    4,873
    1,766
    633
    /home/
    Okay, thanks... I thought this was the app that could transcribe what they said, so you don't have to listen to it, or is that another feature all together (I know google voice can do that), admittedly, I hardly ever use my phone as a 'phone' --- so I'm a bit in the dark on this one.
     
  11. beastinbolts

    beastinbolts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    823
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011

    Apr 16, 2011
    823
    92
    78
    Thanks for the info... This was.the biggest reason I have not ran any 3.5 roms.. Never knew how annoying vm working properly would annoy the %#& out of me
     
  12. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    Here here
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...