1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Flash a recovery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Smarmylamb, Mar 4, 2014.

  1. Smarmylamb

    Smarmylamb Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014

    Mar 2, 2014
    102
    5
    36
    Male

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    943
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,897
    943
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    I don't know the phone, but I don't see anything in that post that says that you can't.
     
  3. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    Which os are you trying to use it on it won't work on kitkat as it looks just 422. Locate where the bash file is
     
  4. Smarmylamb

    Smarmylamb Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014

    Mar 2, 2014
    102
    5
    36
    Male
    It's a Kyocera Hydro, read the first post, and it's ics 4.0.4.
     
  5. lnr4e

    lnr4e Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    83
    18
    18
    Male
    Wichita, KS
    We have a locked bootloader you try and flash a rom or such it could result in a paper weight.
     
  6. Smarmylamb

    Smarmylamb Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014

    Mar 2, 2014
    102
    5
    36
    Male
    Im talking bout flashing a recovery not Roms please read.
     
  7. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,445
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Moved To All Things Root Section :)
     
  8. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Are recoveries somewhat specific to phones? Flashing a recovery meant for another phone could cause an issue? Or maybe if there is another Kyo with the same basic specs as the hydro that has a recovery, maybe that would work?
     
  9. Smarmylamb

    Smarmylamb Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014

    Mar 2, 2014
    102
    5
    36
    Male
    Yes but I know that people have been able to build a clockworkmod but have not been able to flash it and I found this even though I already bricked mine long ago I thought they might be able to flash with that.
     
  10. mel4787

    mel4787 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013

    Jun 23, 2013
    484
    60
    53
    Male
    what the ppl are saying is that in order for a recovery to be flashed the bootloader has to be unlocked for that to happen. the bootloader checks certain things and if they dont match it reboots the phone. so as far as custom recovery its a no go. the bootloader needs to be unlocked. it checks the md5 sum and if they dont match nothing gets flashed.
     
  11. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    That doesn't seem correct to me. I thought the only thing the blocked bootloader did was prevent you from making any changes to the kernel. Don't believe it effects the ability to throw a recovery on the phone. Just limits the tweaking to the stock kernel and prevents any custom kernels. I could be wrong though.
     
  12. mel4787

    mel4787 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013

    Jun 23, 2013
    484
    60
    53
    Male
    trust me on the rise forums a complete recovery was built for the phone and since all the kyocera 4.0.4 phones have the same everything on the inside ithe kernel and system blocked the recovery. look into the rise forums porting cwm to the rise and its the first thing you will see. many bricked their phones trying to port it. i flashed a recovery built for the rise and it didnt boot into recovery. so the same would go for this phone. the kernel checks everything as well. theres a layer of security that we cant get through. until that is bypassed, no recovery for us
     
    Lordvincent 90 likes this.
  13. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    I don't mind being corrected. :)
     
  14. mel4787

    mel4787 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013

    Jun 23, 2013
    484
    60
    53
    Male
    hmm how good are you with android phones and clockworkmod
     
  15. Smarmylamb

    Smarmylamb Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014

    Mar 2, 2014
    102
    5
    36
    Male
    I understand that but the Motorola Defy has a locked bootloader (sorta) but still has a clockworkmod. An 2nd-init style clockworkmod can be created for this phone just like the Defy.
     
  16. Smarmylamb

    Smarmylamb Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014

    Mar 2, 2014
    102
    5
    36
    Male
    I'm good at modding/tweaking a phone but no experience with building custom recoveries and ROMS.
     
  17. Smarmylamb

    Smarmylamb Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014

    Mar 2, 2014
    102
    5
    36
    Male
    Your right, cause the Defy has a locked bootloader and devs figured out a way to get a 2nd-init style recovery on the phone even though now they found a way to get custom kernels with a locked bootloader
     
  18. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    That seems to be the norm in the rest of android land as far as I know. As I mentioned before, a locked bootloader means you're locked into the stock kernel, and there won't be any original development. You can root, put on a recovery and tweak the stock ROM, but that's pretty much it.
     
  19. Smarmylamb

    Smarmylamb Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014

    Mar 2, 2014
    102
    5
    36
    Male
    Yeah, your right, but that's only because devs haven't even layed theirs eyes on this phone and probably never will. This phone is fast after tweaked and debloated with a snapdragon s2, which is pretty good in my book, this phone deserves cm11
     
  20. mel4787

    mel4787 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013

    Jun 23, 2013
    484
    60
    53
    Male
    well i hope you can crack this phone. many tried and failed. if you have a way then we are all ears
     
  21. Smarmylamb

    Smarmylamb Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014

    Mar 2, 2014
    102
    5
    36
    Male
    Lol me? I have no thoughts right now but has someone already requested a clockworkmod in the unloved devices forum?
     
  22. mel4787

    mel4787 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013

    Jun 23, 2013
    484
    60
    53
    Male
    problem isnt cwm. it can be built. thing is we have no way into the bootloader. the only way is to compile a new bootloader. but even if we do it may not work due to the security checks
     
  23. Smarmylamb

    Smarmylamb Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014

    Mar 2, 2014
    102
    5
    36
    Male
    I know but they will alsk help in trying to unlock the bootloader.
     
  24. mel4787

    mel4787 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013

    Jun 23, 2013
    484
    60
    53
    Male
    we have asked kyocera to unlock it. they keep saying that they cant. and they also give us the runaround on it. they say the carrier has to unlock the bootloader and all. so with them we wont be able to get that. so idk what to do with the bootloader
     
  25. Smarmylamb

    Smarmylamb Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014

    Mar 2, 2014
    102
    5
    36
    Male
    I know that cause I asked them myself but those devs can still help us.
     

Share This Page

Loading...