1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Flash a recovery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Smarmylamb, Mar 4, 2014.

  1. Smarmylamb

    Smarmylamb Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014

    Mar 2, 2014
    102
    5
    36
    Male
    Yep but I have a HTC evo design or hero s, don't know yet, I yay need a battery already ordered it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. knoober

    knoober Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014

    Apr 13, 2014
    294
    84
    63
    I'm sure this can't be the same thing you're talking about but this thread says bootloader is unlocked. I haven't had time to try it yet ( I'm always way behind what I read) but maybe this will help
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2310573
     
  3. roadkill42

    roadkill42 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,463
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    2,463
    474
    183
    Male
    kinda jack of trades
    jonesbough tn
    couldent u make an recovery u put on SD card and get into that recovery and flash things I know some tablets and phones can do it just a thought
     
  4. knoober

    knoober Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014

    Apr 13, 2014
    294
    84
    63
    So if I understand what you saying, you mean to create a recovery... Install it (flash it) manually from a terminal emulator, thereby bypassing the need for the bootloader to be unlocked? That's a hell of a plan and just gutsy enough... But IMHO it won't work. Great idea though. I dont think you could reboot to that custom recovery even if you could install it past the bootloader. When the bootloader checked the img it would continuously reboot until it found the correct img (bootloop) and if you can't boot to change back to the stock recovery... Brick. I may be wrong (and by may I mean probably) but that's what I think....
     
  5. Smarmylamb

    Smarmylamb Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014

    Mar 2, 2014
    102
    5
    36
    Male
    Your right it is a brick.
     
  6. roadkill42

    roadkill42 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,463
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    2,463
    474
    183
    Male
    kinda jack of trades
    jonesbough tn
    if u can change the signature signed filled on the stock recovery u might b able to get some were .some of these phones allow u to boot up off SD card and runn a ROM on if SD card it run little slugish it is how some people are still able to use there biicked phones
     
  7. knoober

    knoober Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014

    Apr 13, 2014
    294
    84
    63
    I found 1 tutorial on how to boot from sd, but I got to step 2 or 3 before I was lost. If you could boot from the SD though... I don't see any reason that you would t be able to flash a custom recovery (like cwm or twrp) , flash a custom rom, then return to stock recovery and regular use.... Thereby bypassing the locked bootloader. I wonder if you can pull a stock recovery image with the bootloader locked though. On paper it works... Not with my current t level of knowhow, but if I get smarter I'll try. Oh and here's the tutorial How to Boot Android from an SD Card | Just Started Micro2440

    Edit: do t I feel silly, I went back know to reread that tutorial and saw it was for something else... Might have some useful knowledge in it anyway though.
     
  8. roadkill42

    roadkill42 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,463
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    2,463
    474
    183
    Male
    kinda jack of trades
    jonesbough tn
    thers some good devs on the zte awe section they might b able to help
     
  9. knoober

    knoober Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014

    Apr 13, 2014
    294
    84
    63
    I have two phrases that I use all the time
    1. I'll look into it when after I learn more (or some variation)
    2. Thanks for your help and time.

    As far as asking devs goes see 1:) this is a good little device though and deserves some attention. I think it's too old for any devs to take much interest though (otherwise they already would have) and as for myself once I learn to build cwm and cm this device is my first stop. Be warned that I am slooooooow though. Your ideas have given me so real hope for this forgotten little dual core champ! Thanks.
     
  10. roadkill42

    roadkill42 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,463
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    2,463
    474
    183
    Male
    kinda jack of trades
    jonesbough tn
    what is the size of the proscer I don't have the device a friend dose trying to help I have the zte awe with can run the cm11 now do to some good devs there one u might heard of phenomx4 who finally got it and got twrp 2.8 on our device just stop by might get u in the right direction think u are good I would try my self but don't have time to try any ways good luck hope j can do it:)
     
  11. knoober

    knoober Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014

    Apr 13, 2014
    294
    84
    63
    If memory serves it's a dual core 1g proc. I wanna say only 1g ram as well, but maybe 2-4 for the ram. I think it only supports a 16g sd card, but it's WATERPROOF! The screen is small, and the resolution is migrate, but it's WATERPROOF! did I mention it's waterproof? It's just one of my spare devices, I had it /broke it/ got a new device/ fixed it with a factory wipe and now it's basically an mp3 player. I think it could be a real contender I'd a person could slim it down and maybe add some OC or something. Like Isaid, iit's on my to do list to, right after getting knowledgeable :)
     
  12. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,445
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
  13. roadkill42

    roadkill42 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,463
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    2,463
    474
    183
    Male
    kinda jack of trades
    jonesbough tn
    like I said ask won't hurt might point u in a direction for good info on it
     
  14. knoober

    knoober Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014

    Apr 13, 2014
    294
    84
    63
    My gosh I stand corrected. It is a single core.... I could have sworn cpu z said dual the last time I looked. Sorry about the misinformation. Still did I mention it's waterproof? :)
     
  15. roadkill42

    roadkill42 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,463
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    2,463
    474
    183
    Male
    kinda jack of trades
    jonesbough tn
  16. h8phckallh0z

    h8phckallh0z Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013

    Aug 27, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    It is a dual core 1.2 ghz processor or maybe I just overclocked mine and its actually 1ghz. I dunno, but Im burnin 1188mhz dual core right now. It also has 1gb ram. So I guess it all depends what model we are talking about. Mine is the 6522n. Or the kyocera hydro xtrm on metropcs. Im not very knowledgable in terms of being able to accomplish this. But anyone who sais its impossible should really just save it, with all due respect. There is always a solution, its only a matter of whether or not someone with enough know how is willing to invest their time and put in some elbow grease troubleshooting the hassle kyocera has decided to make for us. Look at motorola's bootloaders. I still have my droid razr maxx, and if I had a dollar for everytime I read this cant be done or its impossible so stop asking, Id be rich, literally. And every single thing that was impossible has been done, including running it on a gsm network. I only talk about stuff I know, not think I know. I was on straight talk a while back with a samsung fascinate I believe. Dont hold it to me because I dont have the phone in front of me. Anyways there was a guy that figured out the bootloader and flashing of roms that started this website for straight talk prepaid phones only. I believe his website was called area51.com. Ill double check. But the process for that samsung i had involved the sd card and alot of tweaking, because straight talk made it a pain in the ass too. Anyways we just need someone that has the know how to invest some of their time. Whether that will happen it remains to be seen. Ive still got my fingers crossed tho.
     

Share This Page

Loading...