1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Flash is almost here for Droid!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by G.Armour, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia

    Advertisement

  2. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    we thought the same thing months ago.....
     
  3. cred05

    cred05 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008

    Oct 17, 2008
    178
    3
    56
    Ohio
    The desire (Sense 2.1) does not have flash 10.1, it has flash lite. I've had the desire ROM on my phone, and its definitely flash lite, only works on certain websites.
     
  4. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia
  5. vincentp

    vincentp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,640
    59
    128
    Mortgage Underwriter
    Rochester, NY
    Sounds to me like they're trying to pull 10.1 out of it too. Are you sure it's Flash Lite?
     
  6. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia
    I stand corrected, I think it is flash lite, but it sure looked like a full flash player. But even so, hulu or other flash sites and games on a Droid is still big!
     
  7. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    i cant wait for it either but with all the time they are taking it better be a perfect version

    yea yea i know wishful thinking
     
  8. vincentp

    vincentp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,640
    59
    128
    Mortgage Underwriter
    Rochester, NY
    I don't care what Flash it is. If it lets me watch Hulu, I'm satisfied.
     
  9. jnngill

    jnngill Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    44
    2
    16
    Flash Lite wont play hulu. You'll still have to wait.:(
     
  10. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia
    OK, they have hulu playing on it, so it may be full flash?
     
  11. jnngill

    jnngill Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    44
    2
    16
    Good point. I had Flash Lite on my old touch pro and it wouldn't play hulu.
     
  12. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    i want flash so i can stream netflix!
     
    BucWild likes this.
  13. vincentp

    vincentp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    1,640
    59
    128
    Mortgage Underwriter
    Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Netflix use Silverlight?
     
  14. Soultics

    Soultics Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    164
    12
    38
    Adobe posted that its Flash Lite on the Desire rom, and that it won't be shipping with Flash. I just can't find where I read it, did a lot of browsing this morning.
     
  15. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,973
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    7,973
    3,603
    513
    Android App Developer
    NY

    yes
     
  16. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,551
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,551
    221
    163
    Project Manager
    Southern California
    I'm afraid even a hacked version of Flash 10.1 won't help me. I want it so Sling can then come out with their client. Until Flash 10.1 hits more phones "Officially", I don't think I will see it any time soon.
     
  17. DjSmooth

    DjSmooth Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    109
    0
    55
    Transportation
    NYC
    Just give me Hulu on my Droid and I'm ready to Donate a King's Ransom...Uhh, :) Ok not that much, but I'm ready.
     
  18. radikal

    radikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    928
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    928
    10
    63
    yeah, it plays any video you want from what i understand, and i have heard that its flash 10.1 beta, not a really great working version, but it does work with a lil patience
     
  19. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    373
    14
    38
    Good God give me flash please! I'm so sick of facebook video links doing nothing.
     
  20. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    With as long as Adobe has taken to being Flash player to 64bit browsers in Windows, I am not gonna hold my breath on seeing flash on my DROID.

    Even if I do see it before the phone gets old, I won't be surprised to see it so chock full of holes that it will allow drive-by exploits of our phones left and right.

    Pretty down on Adobe right now - too many fingers in the pie and screwing things up more and more every day....
     
  21. radikal

    radikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    928
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    928
    10
    63
    well adobe mobile and adobe pc is probably two divisions, so its hard to say. someone on alldroid told me that this is flash lite 4 which is essentially a beta build of 10.1, i believe
     
  22. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,973
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    7,973
    3,603
    513
    Android App Developer
    NY
    Why does flash need more than 2GB of memory? pshaw john :p


    The market isn't exactly crying out for x64 support heh, it'd be nice, but c'mon.
     
  23. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Right. I counter that with The Smart Phone market isn't exactly crying for Flash support either.

    Been running a 64bit OS for 3+ years now, and trust me - we're ***ALL*** clamoring about Flash....
     
  24. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,973
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    7,973
    3,603
    513
    Android App Developer
    NY
    Aw cmon, the practical difference between 32 bit and 64 bit flash is worlds away from, well, having flash and not having flash.


    You may really want 64 bit flash, but there isn't a huge chorus crying out for it.
     
  25. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Then you haven't looked around at the Adobe forums, almost every single 64-bit software forums, and other places as well....

    Those of us taking the plunge to 64bit, BTW, don't do it solely for access to >4 GB of RAM - there is a lot more to 64bit processing than just the amount of RAM it can access....
     

Share This Page

Loading...