1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Flash stock rom but keep root?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sentinelace, Nov 16, 2011.

  1. sentinelace

    sentinelace Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    159
    1
    36
    I want to flash a stock rom without the bloatware but don't seem to find one. Is there a way to flash stock and keep getting the updates over the air but keep root?
     

    Advertisement

  2. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    In short, yes. What you need to do is flash a stock unbranded ROM on your phone... I am not a Thunderbolt user, so haven't got the info on where to get a copy - I think they are usually available from the HTC website (may be wrong there though)
     
  3. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
  4. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    You will need to flash the rom available here [Rom][Rooted] 2.11.605.5 Full Stock - RootzWiki

    Wipe /system as well as data, cache and dalvik. If another OTA hits your phone may try to accept it but that will cause you to soft brick, in order to update you would need to flash the new OTA rom, I don't think there will be another OTA for a while for the bolt.
     
    D-U-R-X likes this.
  5. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    I am not sure if anyone made a debloat version of the stock rom for the most recent update
     
  6. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Knew someone from in here would have a bit of a better answer for the OP!
     
  7. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
  8. sentinelace

    sentinelace Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    159
    1
    36
    can it still recieive the updates from verizon when I flash this?
     
  9. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    It will try to receive the updates but you will soft brick because you are using a non-stock recovery. If the update becomes available you can choose to flash the stock recovery and allow it to update or you can choose to just flash the new OTA stock rom that comes out. I always suggest flashing the rom since it is safer due to not flashing things in hboot and easier IMO.
     
  10. sentinelace

    sentinelace Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    159
    1
    36
    so should I just flash the stock recovery then?
     
  11. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    That is up to you. I wouldn't in case you wish to make a nandroid or change roms. If another OTA comes out it will be talked about and you can then flash the stock recovery if you want to take the OTA. If you do take the OTA you will need to flash back to a custom recovery after and flash superuser in recovery in order to get the phone back to allowing you to have root access.

    I am assuming you rooted with revolutionary, if you rooted the old method your hboot could be overwritten and you would have to reroot using revolutionary.

    It really is much less of a headache to flash the OTA rom when it comes out instead of trying to accept an update.
     
  12. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
    This is the best way, honestly. Instead of waiting for an OTA that can mess up your phone, just grab the OTA early that is in a flashable .zip format instead of an RUU from VZW/HTC.
     
  13. mpeg3s

    mpeg3s Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    I need the oldest original Stock Thunderbolt rom.
     

Share This Page

Loading...