1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Flashed back to Froyo, how to keep phone from updating to GB?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by G.Armour, Jul 4, 2011.

  1. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia
    Ok guys, I know I have seen this before but I can't seem to find it. I know if you uninstall or freeze a factory app it will keep it from uninstalling, but how can you stop it from the annoying pop up asking you to install now or later???
     

    Advertisement

  2. GandalfTehGray

    GandalfTehGray Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    846
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    846
    84
    78
    Texas
    Rom it ;) but other than that you'll need someone else to figure that out, i know someone had the file you needed to freeze around here somewhere
     
  3. bcltoys

    bcltoys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #229
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    705
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    705
    47
    68
    Male
    Marine tech
    Maryland
    What I did was re-root got titanium back-up and froze blockbuster.
     
  4. lennydude

    lennydude Android Expert
    Rank:
     #139
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    1,000
    244
    153
    Male
    Derivative Trader - AIG "JK"
    Maine USA
    Can't you just root the Froyo with Z4 ?
     
  5. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to.
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,534
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    4,534
    306
    183
    Truck driver/ driver mentor. I train people to dri
    Georgia

    Yeah but it keeps asking if I want to update...
     
  6. bcltoys

    bcltoys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #229
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    705
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    705
    47
    68
    Male
    Marine tech
    Maryland
    If you are rooted by the method of your choice be it z4root or what ever you still have to freeze blockbuster and maybe madden or rename them I dont how to rename so I just froze them in tb it will still ask you to upgrade but with these apps froze when you go to upgrade it will fail. Then it stops asking you.
     
  7. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Try this.... (not exactly sure where this is in Froyo tho).

    Settings... battery and data manager... data delivery... social applications... Check "Sync over wi-fi only". That prevented people from updating to Froyo.

    Otherwise there was an update apk that could be frozen if you're rooted, but don't recall the exact file name.
     

Share This Page

Loading...