1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root flashed tom cm7 hboot!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ducky1979, Jul 17, 2011.

  1. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    well guys i did it, and it was a piece of pi## ha ha ha,
    ginga, any chance you can put on here a list of what your rom now contains please, im not sure what to take out and what to leave to get it to work on oxygen table.
     

    Advertisement

  2. GingaB

    GingaB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    856
    64
    78
    London, UK
  3. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    I've read through it pal, but I wondered if you could do me a list of what you have left so I can copy it. PS, I've had to enable a2sd coz I ran out of space! Lol
     
  4. GingaB

    GingaB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    856
    64
    78
    London, UK
    Bloody hell how many apps have you downloaded! lol I have only added 31 apps minus the system apps...

    That list wil have to wait till tomorrow Ive just got back from a wedding do. My word that was a longggg drive and all Im totally knackered!
     
  5. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    Well I've got a couple of large apps, co pilot and angry birds but I reckon I need to have a clear out, have you managed to get oxygen working yet?
     
  6. GingaB

    GingaB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    856
    64
    78
    London, UK
    Nah I havent had the chance cos Ive been spending the weekend in Manchester and just got back couple of hours ago... But I'll probably give it a miss as Oxgyen only gives me an extra 30mb .. in another words not worth it!
     
  7. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    you must have more than a "few"
    i have all angrybirds, co pilot, worms, and about 20 other apps and i dont have a2sd at all.

    granted i have a bigger data partition than you but i still have 89mb left with all that installed

    once you know your system size go custom :p
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    +1
     
  9. GingaB

    GingaB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    856
    64
    78
    London, UK
    Haha I knew you guys would try to encourage us to go custom but I cant seem to shrink my rom any further. If I go custom Im only going to gain 35mb max! So i dont know if its worth it really especially when you consider I still have 159mb free internal left!
     
  10. GingaB

    GingaB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    856
    64
    78
    London, UK
    But having said that Ive understood how the custom MTD works except for one thing. How do I create mtdpartmap.txt on SD card?? Short of creating a folder on SD card how do I create partition?? I would appreciate that in detail please...
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Just create a text document of that name. You can even create it on your PC and put it on the SD.

    The partition layout on the phone is changed by using the patches. You install one patch to recovery (initial set up) which reads the mtdpartmap text file and applies those sizes. The other patch patches the boot.img of the rom in the same way.

    Does that help?
     
  12. GingaB

    GingaB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    856
    64
    78
    London, UK
    Not quite. I understand how the patches work thats not the problem.. Problem is I dont know how to create that text document. Ive never done it before!
     
  13. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    download notepad++ on pc (its better than notepad or wordpad)

    new file

    put in your partition layout

    save as

    mtdpartmap.txt

    move it to root of sdcard
     
    GingaB likes this.
  14. GingaB

    GingaB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    856
    64
    78
    London, UK
    Ducky as promised. List of files I removed from my rom:


    removed "system/apps":

    appshare
    clicker_hi
    cloud service
    factory widgets MIUI analoge clock
    facotry widget 3d digital weather
    fiel explorer
    gallery 3d
    htc ime hi22
    html viewer
    latin ime
    market updater
    notes
    pico tts
    protips
    provision
    sidekick
    spareparts
    stk
    tts service
    voice dailer
    voice search
    vpn service

    remove everything in "system/bin" and "system/xbin" that had a2sd or apps2sd in the title...

    removed "system/tts"

    removed some notifications/ringtones/lockscreens/wallpapers found in the "system/media"
     
  15. GingaB

    GingaB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    856
    64
    78
    London, UK
    Thanks Rasta. I might consider doing that next time Im bored!
     
  16. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Uh oh... :eek:

    before rasta replied I'd have said right click on the desktop of your PC>New>Text document
     
  17. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    i dont trust notepad or wordpad

    get notepad++


    one thing i noticed on the mirror upload dan is the notepad++ folder is not zipped so you have to download the files indevidually which is an arse

    its the same with the android usb driver folder
    these should be zips
     
  18. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK

    Yeah the structure in the shared dropbox was different to the structure in my own drop box which I linked. Its only on the mirror. I re-organised it in my own to zip everything up, but you didnt have easy access to that when you uploaded to your ftp. I will need to rework that at some point.
     
  19. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    i can zip from the host
    if you let me know which location need zipping and i can zip them while they are on the server
     
  20. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Wow can you? Thats wicked. Cant access from here so will look tonight. Still not logged onto it tbh...
     
  21. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    you dont have to go via ftp to look at directory structure :p
    if you can browse the web just go to the url and it will show you the folder structures and files within them
     
  22. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Too time consuming, I can browse dropbox quicker but cant access that here ;)
     
  23. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    I've got 73 user apps installed. Quite a few are around 10 mb in size, most are around 2-2.5 mb, then a few small ones under 1 mb, will have to have a good clear out of the ones I never use.
    Before I did a2sd I had 33 mb left.
     
  24. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Dont forget you can "Move to SD" as per the built in method. You can force even more using titanium.
     
  25. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    Yeah I know that's possible but now that in on cm7 hboot I don't really want to do that. I will probably uninstall some apps that I never use and run terminal and move dalvic to phone, what is the command for this please?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...