1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Flashed TWRP, but can't boot into TWRP recovery.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pissedOfAf, Apr 29, 2019.

  1. pissedOfAf

    pissedOfAf Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019

    Apr 29, 2019
    6
    3
    6
    Hello, I successfully flashed TWRP using Kies. However booting into recovery just takes me to the default recovery mode, not the TWRP. I had USB debugging and OEM unlock turned on before doing this, and flashed the device with it in download mode. I used the correct file for TWRP recovery, did I do something wrong or is there something additional that I must do to access TWRP recovery?

     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,807
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,807
    16,760
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    welcome to AF!!!!!!!!!!

    which version of twrp do you have? where did you get the link? did you use a guide?
     
  3. pissedOfAf

    pissedOfAf Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019

    Apr 29, 2019
    6
    3
    6
  4. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,651
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,651
    19,024
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    The problem isn't that there's some trick to get into TWRP. The problem is that it didn't flash successfully.

    When you flash a recovery it overwrites the original. So if the phone is still booting into the original the flashing didn't work, no matter what the flashing program says.

    If the bootloader is unlocked can you not just use fastboot to flash, or do Samsung's have to use Odin (or Smart Switch?)?
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  5. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,319
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,319
    3,334
    818
    Male
    Common problem installing TWRP on most Samsung devices is that on reboot, the stock recovery will overwrite TWRP.
    To get around it, untick Auto Reboot in Odin, flash TWRP, un plug the phone and remove the battery. Replace the battery and use the button combination to boot into recovery which should be TWRP. In TWRP, flash Magisk or SuperSu to complete the rooting process and TWRP will stick.
    Phones without removable battery, leave Auto Reboot enable and when flash is complete and phone starts to reboot, press and hold volume up and home to get it to boot into recovery. Gotta be quick and catch it when it starts to reboot or stock recovery will overwrite TWRP.
     
    svim, ocnbrze, Hadron and 1 other person like this.
  6. pissedOfAf

    pissedOfAf Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019

    Apr 29, 2019
    6
    3
    6
    Fastboot doesn't work with this particular model, I dual boot Linux/Windows and on Linux with adb tools installed, it'll see my phone, but when I run "fastboot devices" nothing shows up. Other sources have also said fastboot doesn't work with the J7. I think I will just try a different recovery software today.
     
  7. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,065
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,065
    5,631
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    1. fastboot only works in bootloader mode.
    2. ya also need fastboot dependencies installed..
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  8. pissedOfAf

    pissedOfAf Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019

    Apr 29, 2019
    6
    3
    6
    On the phone or computer? Because I have fastboot on my PC.
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,807
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,807
    16,760
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    On the phone. You have to be in the bootloader on your phone and then enter fast boot commands
     
  10. pissedOfAf

    pissedOfAf Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019

    Apr 29, 2019
    6
    3
    6
    Ok, so bootloader instead of download? I'll try that.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  11. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,065
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,065
    5,631
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Correct. Also, if you're in bootloader mode, the cmd:
    Code (Text):
    1. fastboot devices
    Will give you an alphanumeric response
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  12. pissedOfAf

    pissedOfAf Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019

    Apr 29, 2019
    6
    3
    6
    I tried it, when it's in the bootloader my computer won't reconize it, and when I have it turned on and the PC recognizing it. The command "adb reboot bootloader" just restarts the phone normally, not to the bootloader.
    Thank you goood sir, worked exactly as described. The only thing I found was the TWRP-2.8.7.0XXX image didn't work, which is what all the guides used. I had to use one called twrp_3.0.3-1_sm-j700t_23217.tar which did the trick.

    Thanks again everyone!
     
    Jfalls63 and ocnbrze like this.

Share This Page

Loading...