• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Flashing an already locked phone

So I have been looking into flashing my current note 20 phone. I purchased it unlocked but it still has the AT&T firmware on it. At first I thought it was no big deal but I've had it for a while and see that I am still on Android 10 while everyone else in my family is on Android 11 or higher. I have MetroPCS as my carrier right now and am wondering if I flash Tmobile Firmware (I can't seem to find fully unlocked firmware) then will it still work and not brick the phone?
The phone is unlocked already from AT&T and I've been using it for almost 2 years. I would like to update it soon but I wasn't sure if flashing to Tmobile would brick it.

Reactions: Dannydet
Upvote 0
try just flashing the unlocked firmware:
https://www.sammobile.com/samsung/galaxy-note-20-5g/firmware/#SM-N981U

no need to flash other firmwares from other providers. those firmwares would be device specific and could cause issues with your phone.

i have an unlocked z fold 3 that is on verizon, but it is not on verizon bloat on it.

So pulling up the site which I was looking at before It only has a few options. My question then is all the firmware on the site unlocked?
upload_2022-3-16_8-43-4.png

Upvote 0
you are right the t-mobile unlocked version might work.....but why would you want that? it will have t-mobile junk on it. my unlocked z fold 3 is on verizon, but only because i have the sim card for verizon in it. there is no verizon bloatware installed on mine. if you want t-mobile crap on yours by all means go for it....lol

Well right now I have AT&T bloatware and no option to update past android 10. I don't see a just unlocked with no bloatware so I thought going with the carrier closes to mine that still allows updates would work. Am I right about that?

Upvote 0