1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Flashing but not Wiping

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tfleming23, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. tfleming23

    tfleming23 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    201
    9
    36
    Ok I have a problem. I rooted and became, as many of the rest of you have, addicted to flashing new ROMS. I get the feeling that this addiction will need to be fed more and more as leaks of 2.2 start poking out since it is now rumored to be coming.

    However, this causes an issue for me. My company was very reluctant to let me move away from the blackberry and to the Droid and have recently decided that I have to use the Goodlink Enterprise app for email. If/when I do a data/cache wipe because I've changed ROMS I cannot re-activate the email without my IT department generating a new PIN for me.

    Any ideas for how I can get around this because, quite frankly, IT SUCKS.
     

    Advertisement

  2. tfleming23

    tfleming23 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    201
    9
    36
    Bump...could really use some ideas on this
     
  3. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    Have you tried backing up your Goodlink Enterprise app and data using Titanium Backup, then restoring it (app and data) after you flash the new ROM? If you've tried that and it doesn't work, I'm fresh out of ideas.
     
  4. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    That would be my suggestion as well... then if it doesn't work you can always go to IT and say you accidently deleted it...

    As far as updating ROMs if it doesn't work... I would become friends with the IT guys (I suggest this for everyone in any job... :) )
     
  5. tfleming23

    tfleming23 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    201
    9
    36
    Yeah, I tried that. Restoring App+Data with Titanium will restore the inbox and Good back to where it was before I wiped, but it won't allow anything new to come through, so it just sits at the point from where it was restored too.

    One of the IT guys knows what I am doing, and where he is frowning upon it that is the extent. He won't keep regenerating me unlimited PIN's so I am trying to figure out another way if there is one.
     
  6. alnova1

    alnova1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    555
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    555
    27
    68
    Virginia
    I wipe every time I......oh wait, your talking about something else..:D
     
  7. cggorman

    cggorman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    676
    664
    163
    Get a second phone. One for work, One for play.
     
  8. tfleming23

    tfleming23 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    201
    9
    36
    yeah two phones is just not an option. I wanted the Droid for it's ability to do everything so I no longer had to carry two devices (formerly a BB Curve and a Touch).
     
  9. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    yeah man ALWAYS wipe before you flush.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  10. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    Errrrr...you mean flash? LOL
     
  11. BigMace23

    BigMace23 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    228
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    228
    7
    36
    you don't always have to wipe data... especially when its an update for the same ROM. Switching from ROMs with different developers might give you problems though. So I suggest that you find a ROM you like and stick with it. Or if you just have to try the new ROM from whoever... try to update without wiping data. If it doesn't give you any noticeable problems then you're good to go.
     

Share This Page

Loading...