1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Flashing nandroids from gingerbread (1st leak)...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Outlaw71, Apr 15, 2011.

  1. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,482
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    I'm not sure if I'm not doing it right or what the deal is, but I can't flash the nandroid I made when I first set up gingerbread a few weeks ago.

    I flashed the 1st leak, downloaded D2 Bootstrap, then went into clockwork and made a nandroid. Well for the past few days I've been experiencing a lot of freeze-ups and all that jazz so I went into ROM Manager, chose that nandroid, and hit 'restore'.

    It failed.

    After a battery pull my phone booted up just fine so I repeated the last few steps.

    Failed again.

    So now I'm wondering, do you have to use a different method of flashing nans from gingerbread? Like am I supposed to bootstrap into recovery from D2 Bootstrapper and then choose it from there?
     

    Advertisement

  2. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    will they restore if you manually go into clockwork rather than through rom manager?
    thats what i would try bro
     
  3. Kevmueller

    Kevmueller Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    766
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    766
    145
    93
    Kansas City
    I have had not problems, I have made the back-up it the D2 Bootstrap and been able to restore with no problems from the D2 Bootstrap as well.
     
  4. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,482
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Hmmm... ok, will try it that way and see what happens.

    Thanks.
     
  5. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,297
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,297
    23,684
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Outlaw,

    You didn't say exactly what the failure message from the Nandroid restore was...was it "md5sum mismatch" perchance?

    If so, do you have any spaces (or other weird characters) in your Nandroid backup directory names? They would cause this kind of behavior.

    You might already know this, but I thought I'd mention it just in case.

    Cheers!
     
  6. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,482
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    There wasn't any message, it showed the triangle with the droid by it and the progress bar got to about 1/4 of the way up and then froze there... both times. And no there aren't any spaces. But thanks for the suggestions.
     
  7. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    Are you 100% sure it was frozen and not just slow and not showing progress? I have had the bar not show any progress for long periods of time and then, bang, it's done.
     
  8. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,297
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,297
    23,684
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    +1, that's a good point...

    The first thing the nandroid-mobile.sh script does is to verify (via md5sum -c nandroid.md5) the checksums of each of the files being restored. This will take a few minutes and I would expect that the actual restore operations (flash, unyaffs copy, or tar -x, depending on the component being restored) would go pretty quickly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...