1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Flashing Radio / WiMAX

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MyRCode, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. MyRCode

    MyRCode Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    22
    2
    16
    Does doing a clean wipe for a ROM install erase any previous radio / wimax updates?

    I switched from Fresh 1.0 to Backed Snack but did a radio and wimax updates with Fresh. Should I re-apply those updates after flashing the Baked Snack ROM or are they still updated from the Fresh 1.0 ROM?
     

    Advertisement

  2. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    743
    118
    113
    Male
    Group Sales Associate/Front Desk Clerk
    Washington (state)
    Well, I belive you are posting about the Evo in the Hero forum. However, I believe that the radio sticks with the phone even if you change the ROM.
     
  3. Taterus Maximus

    Taterus Maximus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    267
    27
    43
    Student, Verizon Customer Care
    Boise, ID for the moment
    What? Talk of fancy wi-max radios in the Hero forum, kind of jealous. I know my radio has stuck through 4 different ROMs on my Hero, so I assume it would be the same on the Evo. If it doesn't stick just re-flash the radio though.
     
  4. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    The only way to change a radio update is to do another radio update. Nothing in the recovery menu, including wiping, has any effect on the radio version.
     
  5. MyRCode

    MyRCode Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    22
    2
    16
    Thanks for all the info guys.

    Sorry about the wrong forum thing. I did a search and was jumping around from the posts and didn't even realize I was in the Hero section.

    And I may have the WiMax radio, but still no 4G in LA yet.

    Mark
     
  6. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Don't worry, im sure your extra 10 will get you 4g coverage soon enough.
     
  7. Joehunni

    Joehunni Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1,001
    77
    128
    BAMF
    Texas
    Extra 10$ charge per month I mean lol.
     
  8. MyRCode

    MyRCode Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    22
    2
    16
    Yeah...I'm glad I've been paying that since it's been released.

    I did randomly find 4G on a corner in Hollywood...I forgot I had 4G on and the icon showed up. I did a quick speed test and it did register as 3 MB down / 1 MB up.
     
  9. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    Moved to Evo forum for you. :)
     
    MyRCode likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...