1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Flickering screen on Flytouch 3

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by burmesterbob, Jun 8, 2011.

  1. burmesterbob

    burmesterbob Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

    Jun 6, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    The screen has started to flicker in last few days, only noticed since firmware update, any suggestions ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. toscal

    toscal Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Does this only happen when you have the power adapter connected.
     
  3. gary weaver

    gary weaver Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011

    Apr 1, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    M.D.
    Which firmware.
    Tims 3c flickered for me occasionally. d and e were ok.
     
  4. alandog79

    alandog79 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011

    Jun 15, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    with my ft3 it mostly happens with the power cord plugged in but it does happen every now and again on battery. This happen with both the newest official and the 4e rom.
     
  5. dart16

    dart16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    632
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    632
    100
    93
    Screen flickering is not normal behavior ( apart from when running Paradise Island up to ver 1.0.16!!).. so if it is happening with different firmwares I would hazard a guess that you have a hardware issue with your backlight or the display data cable. Opening the device to check the cable is not difficult but it is grounds for invalidating your warranty.....your choice!!
     
  6. bigbaldbloke

    bigbaldbloke Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    199
    50
    53
    Well said noob!

    Although I do get the occasional flicker in other apps and even within just the OS.
     
  7. dart16

    dart16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    632
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    632
    100
    93
    OK JuniorBBB...

    At my age if it flickers once I just put it down to my eyes playing tricks on me...so you might be right!!

    Mike
     
  8. gary weaver

    gary weaver Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011

    Apr 1, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    M.D.
    gotta say.... Paradise Island can flicker for England...
     
  9. bigbaldbloke

    bigbaldbloke Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    199
    50
    53
    Download 1.0.16 or earlier mate, then you'll know flicker. That was the only app that could freeze my whole tablet! Still, on the upside it caused me to learn how to restart these things, I had wondered how one could do, or simulate, a battery pull......!
     
  10. alandog79

    alandog79 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011

    Jun 15, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    for me it is vary rare for it to flicker on battery but when the power cord is plugged in and the battery is low it will flicker to the point of unusable. I even went as far as buying a new power cord and its still just as bad. Is there a way to fix this?
     
  11. dart16

    dart16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    632
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    632
    100
    93
    That sounds like poor smoothing from the power supply. If the psu is spikey it won't do your tablet any favours!!
    When you say you bought a new power cord do you mean a complete replacement power supply or just the mains cable?
     

Share This Page

Loading...