1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Flight Mode

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by smallclone, Dec 25, 2013.

  1. smallclone

    smallclone Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    169
    4
    36
    Hi,

    I have a Tasker script that I run at 1am until 7am - it just turns Flight mode on to save battery. But since my last android update, it doesn't allow flight mode for some reason.

    I do not want to root my phone. Can Tasker help me here?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. KitWasHere

    KitWasHere Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013

    Mar 31, 2013
    109
    39
    53
    No, newer versions of Android require root permissions to toggle Airplane Mode.
     
  3. smallclone

    smallclone Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    169
    4
    36
    That is crapola
     
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    And untrue.

    There was a KitKat bug reported for turning off wifi - you also have to turn off the
     
    D-U-R-X likes this.
  5. smallclone

    smallclone Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    169
    4
    36
     
  6. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,111
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,111
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Droid Maxx ... 4.4 ... Tasker has marked as not available ...

    Airplane Mode
    Airplane Radios
    WiFi Sleep

    ... for 4.2+

    ... Thom
     
  7. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I wonder if llama has picked up the same limitation?
     
  8. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,135
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,135
    10,798
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    I've used the Secure Settings plugin to manage the Airplane Mode state with Tasker on Android 4.2+. You will need root access to do it though.

    Llama is similarly impacted with the root-only Airplane Mode restriction as Android 4.2 did in fact make Airplane Mode a system-level setting.

    The only way I can think of to manage Airplane Mode without root would be to simulate the screen taps necessary for going into the Settings and toggling that function.
     
    D-U-R-X likes this.
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Build a widget with the actions using Elixir 2 or similar and have Tasker try to toggle the widget?
     
  10. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,135
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,135
    10,798
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Without root, Elixir 2 can only open the Settings screen where you can manually toggle Airplane Mode. It still can't toggle it for you. (I just tried it to be sure)

    Again, this is a system-level limitation. The only way around it is with root.
     
  11. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I've toggled deep settings with Widgetsoid fwiw, no root required, on earlier phones.

    I can't believe that they removed this as an automation option.

    OK, I believe it - but I can't believe it, it's just stupid.
     

Share This Page

Loading...