1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root FM radio for the D2!!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by slayher, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. slayher

    slayher Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    20
    22
    18
    Instuctions to get FM Radio on Droid2

    1. Droid2 must be rooted. Remount the /system to RW

    2. Unzip the archive, and use abd push to put the files in the appropriate folders.
    cd system

    a. adb push app/FMRadio.apk /system/app
    b. adb push app/FMRadioService.apk /system/app
    c. adb push bin/fmradioserver /system/bin
    d. adb push lib/libFMRadio.so /system/lib
    e. adb push lib/libfmradio_jni.so /system/lib
    f. adb push lib/libfmradioplayer.so /system/lib

    3. Remount /system to ro
    4. Plug in headphones.
    5. Run FMradio
    6 ???
    7. Profit!

    For me, I live in a crappy radio area, so I was only able to pick up 2 stations. YMMV.

    As always I will not be responsible for any damage, pregnancies, or missing items from your home.

    Thanks!

    LINK!! Download Here!

    Slayher
     

    Advertisement

  2. jradicle11

    jradicle11 That Guy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    1,041
    113
    143
    Lifeguard
    Illinois
    Where did you find this from?
     
  3. slayher

    slayher Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    20
    22
    18
    I was browsing through the /system/lib folder, saw some interesting stuff and started grabbing stuff from the dx rom..

    :D
     
  4. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Slayher...congrats on this, looking forward to trying it soon. :)
     
  5. TheBeachBoy

    TheBeachBoy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    81
    3
    36
    Musician
    Phoenix
    I wonder if this would work with the D1, or is the hardware too much different?
     
  6. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    I just installed it. It works. ...barely. I get get one station in pretty weak. But it's the only radio station I listen to anyway. I'm sure your mileage will vary. I'm also trying it from in the house. Sound is only coming out of the right side.

    Don't hold your phone it greatly drops reception. Try and have it resting above your head if possible.
     
  7. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    I tried it on the D1 the other day and it just got stuck with a screen that said FM Radio is being Launched, please wait
     
  8. hgaunt56

    hgaunt56 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I don't think it's a matter of the hardware being different as much as it is most likely non-existant on the Droid 1.
     
  9. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    there has been talk about enabling FM Radio on the D1 since it was first rooted although no one has been able to accomplish it yet
     
  10. Maxymo

    Maxymo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Does this fm radio use the headphones and their cable as an antenna or it is like with the D1 where they've been able to hack the system to run the radio but there is no connectivity between the chip and the 3.5 jack?

    I'm asking because You're complaining about the reception quality.
    So does it use aerial or not?
     
  11. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    It uses the headphones as the antenna.
     
  12. Maxymo

    Maxymo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    how is the reception quality comparing to phones with fm radio in standard software?
     
  13. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    I have no idea. The only phone I had with FM was a Nokia that was imported so it worked on European and didn't work w/ US radio. On the Droid2 I can tune into the TVs at the gym fine. That's really all I care about. 15GB of music on my SD card, don't need the crappy radio music.:p
     
  14. Maxymo

    Maxymo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Yes but I frequently use FM radio.
    I really need to know how is the reception.
     
  15. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Why not just use something like Xia or other FM radio streaming programs?
     
  16. Maxymo

    Maxymo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    What is xia?
    If you mean the internet streaming for internet radio it's always a problem - problem with subscription, problem with the radio having its equivalent on the net and so on.

    I need just a working FM radio.
    In the previous Droid, after hacking this problem the radio had a very poor reception because of some problem with the antenna.
    So I want just know - after hacking this problem is the reception poor or adequate to normal FM radios in other phones.

    Please would you be so kind and give me this information?
    Kind regards.
     
  17. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    I'd have to say it's not adequate.
     
  18. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    I would suggest it's worth a few minutes of your time to look for XiiaLive Lite on the market and see if the stations you want are available/can be added to it...I would be very surprised if the D2 radio offers more than marginal utility for FM stations.
     
  19. DROIDing

    DROIDing Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    325
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    325
    1
    36
    Can't believe I'm the first to thank you, second time that's happened tonight on huge threads. Too bad AM isn't unlocked... I love to listen to talk radio while doing cardio or studying. :(
     
  20. RTFIELD

    RTFIELD Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Is there anyway to install this without a computer and if so can you tell me how?

    Thanks
     
  21. lance-tek

    lance-tek Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    59
    2
    16
    Database Administrator
    Indianapolis, IN
    Step 1: RW = read/write?

    Step 2: What is abd (push)? if it is an app what is it called in the Market? If it's not in the Market, where do I get it? (is this some sort of terminal client?)

    Step 3: ro = Read Only?



    Thanks a million for the info, I just don't know enough to execute this without the clarification...

    Thanks again,

    -lance
     
  22. xzillerationer

    xzillerationer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    197
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    197
    12
    58
    Highschooler
    I'm not sure... I think... somewhere...
    Will this work with Fission?
     
  23. overcaffein8d

    overcaffein8d Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    144
    9
    56
    apparently not :/
     
  24. RJT185

    RJT185 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    550
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    550
    51
    78
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Liberty has this integrated.
     

Share This Page

Loading...