1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

FM Radio???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by euroemkay2, Jun 5, 2010.

  1. euroemkay2

    euroemkay2 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    24
    0
    15
    Electrician
    LI, NY
    Hey there. I just got My EVO Yesterday from BB. Now today i was trying to mess around with the FM radio app and i noticed that you need to use your headphones as an antenna.. i plugged mines in and i got reception no where. idk if it is b/c my headphones aren't good enough. help would be nice. Do i need to get some sort of a special headphone proper for it?
    -MIke
     

    Advertisement

  2. dylan88

    dylan88 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    810
    196
    113
    Five Guys Burgers and Fries
    Tampa, FL
    what kind of headphones did you use? i noticed that if my headphones where touching a desk or something id lose reception. other than that it worked great for me.
     
  3. Evo_Pimpin

    Evo_Pimpin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    105
    12
    38
    Project Manager
    San Diego
    Yeah mine works like crap too. I have tried different headphones and even gone outside to see if it would. Needless to say it didn't do a damn thing for me. I can't pick up a single station.
     
  4. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    180
    31
    43
    Mine did the same thing. Even went outside and nothing worked. I was using my ipod touches 3rd gen ear buds with mic.
     
  5. Hax0rPunk

    Hax0rPunk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    9
    0
    25
    Military/Construction
    Queens, NY
    I have a pair of Monster Jamz, which have a steel shell so it pulls the signal in very well
     
  6. Ashenor

    Ashenor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    127
    11
    38
    Metro Detroit
    I used a pair of Skull Candys earlier today and i picked up quite a few stations around here. Some i did have to manually tune to though, they still came in fine.
     
  7. dylan88

    dylan88 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    810
    196
    113
    Five Guys Burgers and Fries
    Tampa, FL
    i have no problems. all who are having problems, maybe its just your area? try wifi?
     
  8. cmanbrazil

    cmanbrazil Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    210
    37
    43
    mine sucks, indoor at least. I can't get one station using skull candies. oh well.
     
  9. KiLo11

    KiLo11 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    122
    22
    38
    i tried a bunch of headphones and worked very well

    i tried the apple,bose,monster,skullcandy and some sony headphones
     
  10. euroemkay2

    euroemkay2 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    24
    0
    15
    Electrician
    LI, NY
    idk i need to find something good..
     
  11. RTan

    RTan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    109
    24
    38
    I use the same headphone from my iPod and it works great on my EVO.
     
  12. cmanbrazil

    cmanbrazil Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    210
    37
    43
    probably is just the city then
     
  13. joeco

    joeco Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    9
    1
    6
    Indy
    No prob here in indy,comes in great, used head set from instinct
     
  14. euroemkay2

    euroemkay2 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    24
    0
    15
    Electrician
    LI, NY
    I just bought Klipsch S4 still nothing. They were $80. Idk maybe it is just NY.
     
  15. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    441
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    441
    28
    43
    Austin, TX
    So if headphones act as the antenna, how do you hear the music? Headphones also?? BlueTooth?? :) Speakerphone? I have yet to play with it - in the midst of battery testing atm.
     
  16. KiLo11

    KiLo11 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    122
    22
    38
    headphones act as antenna and u hear thru hedphones also u also got option to play thru speaker while headphones r connected no bluetooth
     
  17. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    441
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    441
    28
    43
    Austin, TX
    Thanks KiLo!
     
  18. phearx

    phearx Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008

    Nov 28, 2008
    58
    7
    16
    Have you pushed the headphones all the way down? I noticed mine wasn't working until i forced the headphones all the way in.
     
  19. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #29
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,882
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,882
    3,481
    923
    I think there might be an issue with the phone jack.

    any headphone should work
     
  20. euroemkay2

    euroemkay2 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    24
    0
    15
    Electrician
    LI, NY
    nope i just tried pushing the jack down and still nothing.. i can listen to music off iheartradio or pandora fine with and head phone..
     
  21. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    441
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    441
    28
    43
    Austin, TX
    *remembers back to when the iPhone 2G came out and hardly any headphones could fit into the jack (all the way)* LMAO!! Poor Apple!! :)
     
  22. armandov99

    armandov99 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    77
    4
    16
    Los Angeles
    Mine picks up nothing, tried 2 different sets of headphones. I think not all are made to act as antennas. Wish there were a way to know which do and which don't...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...