1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Font changer app may have bricked my phone.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NYfinest, Oct 9, 2011.

  1. NYfinest

    NYfinest Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Hi guys. I have a rooted optimums v running on CM7. I installed the font changer app and tried to change to the custom font on my phone. After changing it i was required to reboot, unfortunately the phone got stuck so i decided to take out the battery, now anytime i try turning the phone on it is stuck at the Lg screen.

    Any way to rectify this problem?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,466
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    You could try booting in to safe mode and try removing the app.


    1. Power off.
    2. Hold the Menu Button and the Power Button at the same time.
    3. Release only after ALL of the boot animations have finished.
    4. You should see "Safe Mode" in the lower left corner of the screen.

    See if that helps.

    I have that font changer, but I never let the app reboot the phone. I always choose "Reboot Later", and manually reboot the phone the regular way.
     
  3. NYfinest

    NYfinest Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    I can't even go into safe mode. The screen is still stuck at the lg logo. It is weird because i can go into recovery mode.

    Anyway what i did was i deleted the app by connecting my phone to the laptop. This still hasn't solved the problem. I am still stuck at the lg screen
     
  4. mkbkr1

    mkbkr1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    332
    135
    68
    Sunset, Louisiana
    If you can get to your recovery, you're not bricked. Just wipe and reflash your rom.
     
    NYfinest and Petrah like this.
  5. NYfinest

    NYfinest Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011

    Aug 21, 2011
    8
    0
    5
    Oh man thank goodness. I am seeing two options on the recovery menu: One says "wipe data/Factory reset", the other says "wipe cache partition" and the last one says "wipe dalvik cahe". Which one do i click in order to wipe and reset rom?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...