1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support For MT4G Users Who Never Got the OTA Gingerbread Update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 1BlinkGone, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. 1BlinkGone

    1BlinkGone Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    117
    8
    36
    I want to clarify a few posts and misconceptions about what you can & can't do. First you obviously need the Original GB install. Here it is:

    To get the original OTA GB O/S that you never got, go to the link below, and follow the directions step by step. Download the PD15IMG.zip file offered in the embedded link there and follow the instructions exactly. This is what I did for 4 MT4G phones, without any problems. Yes, the file is safe, its the official OTA update file from T-Mobile.
    Bupahs World: MyTouch 4G Gingerbread - Update

    After installing your fresh upgrade to Gingerbread 2.3.4 and reboot after fresh install; then do this to get the updated file (You now CAN download the new OTA 2.32.531.1 update manually.)

    menu/settings/about phone/software update/check now

    click the "check now" button

    There should be a pop-up window offering you an update.

    Pick which method.

    Follow directions.

    Done. You will now have Version 2.32.531.1
     

    Advertisement

  2. jrizal

    jrizal Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    35
    4
    16
    Can this be made to a sticky post? Though I've already updated to GB via T-Mob store, this will help those who haven't upgraded yet. :)
     
  3. policemanpr

    policemanpr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    not all people have the upgrade.... i check mine and said is no upgrade available... i saw a post from HTC that said is going to send every day before january 26 the update... well let see!:D
     
  4. CyberWinter

    CyberWinter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    77
    2
    16
    USA, Greece
    I have to try this on my co-worker's phone. Still no OTA, so I hope this works.
     
  5. 1BlinkGone

    1BlinkGone Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    117
    8
    36
    You'll be glad you did!
     
  6. CyberWinter

    CyberWinter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    77
    2
    16
    USA, Greece
    Worked like a charm! Now we see 4G up top. To think a whole year went by and only were getting 3G (actually it showed an "H" too).

    Thanks!
     
  7. 1BlinkGone

    1BlinkGone Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011

    Feb 21, 2011
    117
    8
    36
    You are quite welcome!! BTW, you WERE getting 4G before, it's just that the H has been replaced w/the 4G icon. Now it looks "official" lol. enjoy!
     
  8. gwcaton

    gwcaton Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    825
    250
    113
    Finally did this. Worked perfectly. Phone seems faster in all things and went from EDGE to 2G . No biggie for most but out in the sticks thats pretty good. :cool:

    Or is 2G the new EDGE ? LOL
     
  9. razi914

    razi914 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    15
    1
    16
    When I click that link, it takes me to a page that says Mytouch 4G update fail, then on that page, I click a link in the first paragraph that says "in store upgrade option", it takes me to the tmobile page that says it stopped the update.
     
  10. CyberWinter

    CyberWinter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    77
    2
    16
    USA, Greece
    Looks like they took if off cause of some problems? Haven't noticed problems. Maybe they'll fix it and push it once and for all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...