1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Force close

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mlb, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. mlb

    mlb Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    72
    30
    23
    Central Fl
    I've been having problems with my internet app force closing. When I use the search button or a bookmark I get: Sorry The application Internet (process com.android.browser) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again. I've wiped dalvik and cache, I've wiped the apps cache, I've tried reloading the rom. I am at a loss, any suggestions would be appreciated.

    MikG 2.61
    More Freedom kernal
    Amon Ra 2.3
    HBoot 6.16.1002
     

    Advertisement

  2. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Try fixing permissions
     
    Rxpert83 and mlb like this.
  3. mlb

    mlb Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    72
    30
    23
    Central Fl
    OK did some research and downloaded rom manager, used it to fix my permissions. Crossing my fingers it seemed to work. Is that something I need to do on a regular basis or only when I have issues.
     
  4. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Should be only when you have issues. It can also be done through recovery so theres no need for rom manager
     
    mlb likes this.
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    well your recovery can fix permissions. there is no need to use rom manager to do it. also do not use rom manager it is really buggy and has created more issues then it is worth.

    also i would recommend that you switch to amon ra. it is a much better recovery then clockwork mod.
     
    mlb likes this.
  6. mlb

    mlb Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    72
    30
    23
    Central Fl

    How do I fix permissions through Amon Ra, looked but couldn't find it. Thanks
     
  7. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Its going to be in an advanced or other option. I believe its called fix UID mismatches.

    I'll reboot into recovery and check it out.
     
    MusicJunkie, mlb and ocnbrze like this.
  8. mlb

    mlb Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    72
    30
    23
    Central Fl
    Found it, it's under other. I would have never guessed that would have fixed permissions. Thanks.
     
    dustwun77, ocnbrze and Rxpert83 like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...