1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Force gallery to load new photos?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by droidpcguru, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    506
    19
    63
    Northwestern PA, USA
    As the title states...

    Is there any way to force the Gallery app to load new photos? Half the time I take new pictures with the camera, I cannot view them in the Gallery for sometimes a day or two..even after a reboot.:thinking:

    Is there any fix to this very annoying problem?:(
     

    Advertisement

  2. GorillaTheHutt

    GorillaTheHutt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    227
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    227
    40
    43
    SF, CA
  3. bemenaker

    bemenaker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    137
    16
    38
    On stock 2.1 I noticed this happening too. When I deleted photos from my camera gallery new ones would show up 1 at a time. 1 for everyone I deleted. Thought I was hitting a picture limit.
     
  4. Helenoftroy08

    Helenoftroy08 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    266
    35
    43
    I was having a HORRIBLE time with this issue. To fix it, I moved all of the contents of my SD Card to my PC. I unmounted the SD card and formatted it, then remounted it. I transferred the files from my PC back to the SD Card. In my case this worked, and the gallery is blazing along fast recognizing media changes instantly. Don't know if this helped, but before I did any of the above I also cleared the gallery data under settings>applications>managae applications>all>gallery. Hope this helps!
     
  5. Tymanthius

    Tymanthius Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    147
    1
    36
    BR, LA
    I want the opposite: I don't want all my album art to show up in the gallery. any ideas there?
     
  6. Helenoftroy08

    Helenoftroy08 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    266
    35
    43
    From what I understand u place a .nomedia file in the folder that u dont want to show up in the gallery.
     
  7. JM33

    JM33 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    162
    25
    43
    Maui, HI
    Correct and to be more specific, it needs to be a blank .txt file. (Create in note pad on your computer and transfer, or there are some free notepad-like apps on the market). It should be named nomedia.txt (not nomedia.txt.txt).
     
    othgar likes this.
  8. bemenaker

    bemenaker Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    137
    16
    38
    Without wiping the SD card, I just cleared my gallery data and let open to gallery, let it rebuild itself. Took a test photo and it showed up in my gallery right away. No need to do sdrescan.
     
  9. Thrawn

    Thrawn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    63
    0
    15
    Thank you much. Can finally get the album art and cached images out of my gallery. Now my question is why apps don't do this by default? Like, I have some cached JuicePlotter graphs in my gallery.
     
  10. Inno

    Inno Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    OK, possible dumb question:

    I have a folder of pics for my contacts, can I put a .nomedia file in that, and it won't show up when I go to the gallery, but can still be used to attach to the contacts? Would I need to apply them to each contact BEFORE putting the nomedia file in, if that's possible, or would the picker still "see" them even though the gallery doesn't?
     
  11. othgar

    othgar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010

    Mar 7, 2010
    106
    6
    36
    NJ
    I did this and the pictures still showed up in the gallery. The .txt file is supposed to be in the same folder as the pictures, correct?
     

Share This Page

Loading...