1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Force GPU rendering

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pkrexer, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. pkrexer

    pkrexer Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    19
    4
    16
    Does anyone know if there is a advantage / disadvantage by enabling this under settings?
     

    Advertisement

    RaiseUp151z likes this.
  2. William T Riker

    William T Riker Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    476
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010

    Jan 14, 2010
    476
    130
    68
    Male
    East Coast USA
    Disadvantage is on it will glitch some older programs, for me I've noticed BatteryLife widget and Root explorer. Advantage Im guessing for games and such it should be faster
     
    RaiseUp151z likes this.
  3. shaffilupagus

    shaffilupagus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    37
    7
    16
    Philly
    RaiseUp151z likes this.
  4. Romparoo

    Romparoo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    615
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    615
    74
    98
    Investment Banker
    Arizona
    What does it do to battery?
     
  5. theineffablebob

    theineffablebob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    359
    51
    53
    Has the potential to make things smoother and has the potential to make apps more glitchy.
     
  6. 8-Bit-Soldier

    8-Bit-Soldier Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    258
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    258
    59
    73
    Atlanta
    it actually improves it considering it takes most of the graphical work from the CPU.
     
  7. WalmartSecurity

    WalmartSecurity Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    313
    201
    68
    It forces hardware acceleration, I believe. All you need to do to enable hardware acceleration in apps is to add one line of code to your program, so I guess checking this forces older apps to be hardware accelerated.

    I haven't really noticed many differences except...

    1. Spotify transitions are MUCH smoother (swiping the album cover to go to the next song)

    2. Fruit ninja is screwy and freezes with the option on

    Apparently LauncherPro doesn't work well with it, either...
     
  8. wedgemoose

    wedgemoose Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #442
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    443
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    443
    97
    53
    Sales
    MA
    Wow, you guys just saved me. I was going nuts. the twitter app i was using was awful...i checked this setting and now it is perfect. nice find.
     
  9. dguy

    dguy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    985
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    985
    277
    113
    Male
    Force GPU rendering made a handful of my older apps become laggy. I think the lesson here is that the setting is under developer options for a reason.
     
  10. csx321

    csx321 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    20
    4
    16
    Southern IL USA
    I've found that the reason my own app doesn't work with this enabled is that I'm using a function that isn't yet supported by the hardware accelerated rendering engine. It's simply drawing rectangles with rounded corners, but it's not yet supported. This is a debugging option, not an end-user option. Please do not turn it on unless you are a developer debugging an app.
     
  11. ozneilau

    ozneilau Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012

    Jan 22, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Web Developer
    Western Australia
    I tried enabling "Force GPU rendering" but it killed two of my favourite applications:

    ABC (Australia)
    Currently Tech News

    Neil.
     
  12. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    722
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    722
    108
    93
    US Army - 25B (I.T. Specialist)
    Ft. Knox, KY
    This helped out with smoothing scrolling in some apps, but broke others too. One game it broke is Xconstruct.
     
  13. jcash3

    jcash3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    294
    30
    43
    Engineer
    Anchorage, AK
    Wow, so I just tried out Pandora with this setting turned on and it is lightning fast. I think I will stick with the setting until I find an unstable app. Someone needs to come up with a widget to turn it on and off.
     
  14. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    I just checked it and I"m gonna see how it performs .
     
  15. garvus

    garvus Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012

    Jan 31, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    In another thread people were complaining that PDAnet doesn't work... it does but forcing the gpu option does make pdanet (best app ever besides tasker) to not display properly and makes it unusable.

    OPTIONS:
    1. add a PDAnet widget - works fine
    2. Switch off the 2D acceleration then run pda net .... chances are you are using a computer then anyway. When done - switch 2D gpu back on.

    Personally, I am using nova launcher and the screen trans. are MUCH smoother with the 2D gpu checked on.
     
  16. eugene654

    eugene654 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Hi All,

    I had this option enabled because I'd noticed that it smoothed animations in some apps. However I've just discovered that it's not compatible with the PocketCloud RDS client. The mouse pointer stops responding with this option on. Just in case this is helpful to anyone. I had been breaking my head over this one for a while. I couldn't figure out what was going wrong. I haven't noticed any other issues with having the option on.

    Eugene
     
  17. shawn7668

    shawn7668 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 21, 2013

    May 21, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    hey guys can anyone tell me that force gpu rendering makes games to ren faster or not??
    when that option is unchecked does the gpu is still used in games??
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...