1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Forced install of Froyo on unrooted Motodroid-Why not on Incredible?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bobo, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. Bobo

    Bobo Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    Why does the Inc have to be rooted in order to install Froyo? My Motodroid1 was able to install a leaked Froyo without having to root. Is there something more difficult in the software that the Inc uses or is it the actual leaked versions were never designed for an Incredible or what? I really don't understand why we seem to be lagging the Motodroid community in being able to install this. I'm sure someone has a perfectly good explanation and I obviously don't have a clue. I am a newbie with the Inc and I did love my Droid1 until it got run over and no replacements were available. I have to say that so far I am not that impressed with my Incredible. It's slimmer, I rarely used the slide out keyboard on the Droid 1-so I don't miss that, a few things seem to respond a little quicker, but overall I liked my old Droid1 better. The 2.2 I forced on the Droid was a huge improvement over 2.1. The 3d gallery glitches were gone, the mass updates were great, camera worked super. Battery life was always excellent, pics were clear, no dropped calls, always had a signal. Output volume to headphones was a little weak on a motorcycle but I solved that with a nice little pocket amp. I don't mean to knock our phones but... I never had to worry about battery life, poor signal strength,etc. And I miss the 3D gallery after the fix but I did find a thread here to help me install it in the Inc. When 2.2 gets here it should be a nice improvement but I wish battery life wasn't an issue and signal strength was better. I don't feel like spending some pretty good change for a high output battery. Anyway I hope someone can answer my main question about installing Froyo without having to root.
     

    Advertisement

  2. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    a leaked version is very different. its signed by htc and is installed through the bootloader. its been "leaked" by an employee.

    a rom is just that. a rom
    its the files from the software put into a flashable form.
     
    Bobo likes this.
  3. Bobo

    Bobo Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    So basically security at Htc is higher than at Motorola?LOL When you say signed by Htc you mean that the software is specifically tweaked for that phone (although maybe not in its final form),right? Do you think these "leaks" are deliberately done sometimes so that they can be further tested in the field albeit unofficially? Thanks.
    Also, I guess no one has found a way to trick the bootloader into thinking an update IS signed to make installation simpler? Sorry if my questions are stupid. Just trying to learn. I've used the search extensively but these were some basic questions I haven't found answered.
     
  4. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    things have to pass a signature check before they install on our phones. devs use a public key and that allows them to create roms that your can flash through recovery. to load something through the bootloader they need to be signed by HTCs official key. has nothing to do with motorola.

    and no, theres no way to trick it. if we dont have their key then we are stuck. and ya, i totally think they do it on purpose
     
    Bobo likes this.
  5. Bobo

    Bobo Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    25
    0
    15

    Let me bug you just once more.
    Did the Motodroid1 not require Motorola signing in order to use the bootloader?
    Is this because it was an earlier software and that had not been put in place then?
    Do they have to be signed by Motorola now?
    Or did the signature itself get leaked?
    I promise I won't ask any more. I find it pretty interesting though.
     
  6. craigrn16

    craigrn16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    520
    13
    63
    New Jersey
    I had a Droid before the incredible. While I love the incredible alot more than I did my Droid. The OP is right, the Droid was way easier to hack than the incredible. Verizon also took care of the Droid as far as updates go. and certain things like the picture gallery I liked better on the Droid. Other than that incredible all the way. I'll put up with Verizons neglect on the incredible as long as the devs keep up the good work.
     
  7. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    no, things still needed the official signature on the D1 too

    most things are signed using the public release key. thats the one needed when flahing from recovery
     

Share This Page

Loading...