1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Support forced to use Google keyboard

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wolgy, May 14, 2014.

  1. wolgy

    wolgy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    27
    1
    36
    so, I've been using swype and started to get used to it despite how bad it was. then today my phone switched to Google keyboard and won't let me switch off any idea why? this isn't apple, I shouldn't be forced to use their product
     

    Advertisement

  2. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,693
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,693
    1,926
    483
    Go to settings / language & input. Make sure that the keyboard that you want to use (I assume it's Swype) is checked, then tap on "Default" to make it the default.

    If you don't like Swype you may like Swiftkey. It's prediction engine is the best in the business and it can also do letter tracing (Swiftkey calls it "Flow") like Swype does.

    Free one month trial version of Swiftkey: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.touchtype.swiftkey.phone.trial
     
  3. Outatime

    Outatime Android Expert
    Rank:
     #109
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,629
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,629
    662
    253
    Male
    Fed
    SwiftKey is completely off the hook. And it's learned and customized prediction is available across all of your devices.
     
  4. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,766
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,766
    3,731
    653
    Male
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    +1 to SwiftKey

    That's my preferred keyboard over any, mainly for its very accurate prediction/auto correct
     
  5. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    My son's Maxx and both of my other boys Nexus 7 2013 all randomly change the keyboard back to stock from Swiftkey. Anyone else ever get that? Anyone know a cause?
     
  6. wolgy

    wolgy Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012

    Jan 4, 2012
    27
    1
    36
    wow, awesome response time. I new i was missing something completely basic :/

    and ill give swiftkey a try. i figured all the hype with swype it would have some sort of AI and learn me, hasn't happened after 5 months.
     
  7. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,766
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,766
    3,731
    653
    Male
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Are you using the free, paid or beta version of SwiftKey? I've heard instances of this happening once the free trial expires.


    Swype use to be a big thing, to me at least, around 3 or 4 years ago. Now? I've got no use for it as long as I've got SwiftKey on my device :p
     
  8. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,766
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,766
    3,731
    653
    Male
    Shreveport, Louisiana
  9. wcndave

    wcndave Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012

    Jan 26, 2012
    7
    1
    6
    Swype seemed to change. Now I can't find it on new devices, and on my s2 it no longer has the option to add to dictionary.

    I love Swype as the fastest most accurate input method however I wish it was available on all devices and had the add to dictionary back!
     
  10. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,693
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,693
    1,926
    483
    There is a bug in KitKat (I think it's still there in 4.4.2) that messes up some paid apps when they are updated in the Play Store. Sometimes you'll see icons disappear from home screens. I assume that those devices that switch back to stock keyboard have it happen when Swiftkey has an update (which, thankfully, isn't often.) That happened to me a week or two ago (? I think it was in the last two weeks...) on my Maxx, too, and it was right after the app was updated.

    I assume that's what happened with the Swype app, too.

    See [Bug Watch] KitKat Disables Paid Keyboard Apps Upon Updating Them, Reverts To Default Keyboard
     
    Rumma and Old Member like this.
  11. Kevin-B

    Kevin-B Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #1,184
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    98
    36
    23
    I too had a similar experience yesterday, but didn't pay much attention. At some point during the day, my keyboard reverted to the generic Google one, and I had to go back into the settings to re-enable Swype.

    I'm fine with Swype, and the voice recognition is exceptional, now including most common punctuation. But since I'm very influenced by peer pressure, I'll have a look at SwiftKey too. :)

    Looks like Swype updated itself in the last day or so, which probably caused the glitch, but it turned out not to be a big deal.
     
  12. TJGoSurf

    TJGoSurf Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,419
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    1,419
    136
    143
    Male
    Oil Engineer stuff
    CO
    The same thing happened to me a couple days ago. I just switched it back. I figured I just did it in my sleep.
     
  13. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    986
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    986
    31
    98
    Male
    Test engineer
    Bartlett, IL
    That happens to me when Swiftkey updates.. for some reason it turns off swiftkey as an option for keyboard
     
  14. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,693
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,693
    1,926
    483
    Yep, I explained why a few posts up... It's a bug in kitkat.
     
  15. Kevin-B

    Kevin-B Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #1,184
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    98
    36
    23
    As promised, I tried SwiftKey based on enthusiastic reviews in this thread. Didn't care for it. I'm not going to list the reasons, since the point isn't to start an argument with those who have their reasons for loving SwiftKey. Everyone has their preferences, and mine is still Swype, which works extremely well for me. I'm glad we have more than one option in the Android community: it gives everyone a choice, and the competition makes all products better.
     
    speede541 and dhbuckley like this.
  16. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,693
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,693
    1,926
    483
    That's one of the best parts about Android - there is no one size fits all.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  17. dhbuckley

    dhbuckley Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #588
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    220
    33
    43
    If you use the Swiftkey beta, you load the updates, avoiding Play Store, no issues. Also, cool new functionality, particularly with interesting emoji.

    Thanks, DS95 and yes, open, better. Even open-ish, better-ish.
     

Share This Page

Loading...