1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Formatting 1gb SD card

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by RokyKing, Jun 14, 2009.

  1. RokyKing

    RokyKing Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009

    Jun 11, 2009
    6
    0
    25
    IT
    Texas
    Hey guys, tonight I was trying to root my phone and I ran into an issue. Everytime I would right click the drive and try and format It was just unmount it from my phone and then I would have to remount it again to see the drive on my computer. I tried on win7, ubuntu, vista and xp.

    All of which did the same thing to me.

    I had someone recomend to unmount the card from the phone and format on the phone. But I am pretty sure it will format it in FAT while all the guides ive seen explicitly point out FAT32.

    If it formats it in FAT can I still continue with root or will I have to go buy a sd card bigger than 4gb to continue and get root?
     

    Advertisement

  2. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    3,121
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008


    you will need fat32 and buying a better sd is always recommended... make sure you get a class 4 or better if you eventually plan on running apps of your sd instead of internal memory.... and formating your card is not needed only recommended...
     
  3. jady

    jady Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009

    Jun 5, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    I have the same problem. I cannot format my sd card on my laptop either. I am using a micro to sd adapter on my laptop, maybe that's the issue.

    But it does unmount as soon as I try to format with my g1. I have tryed 2 diff cards BTW, the 1g that came with it and a 2g card from my old phone.
     
  4. halr9000

    halr9000 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009

    Jul 3, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Systems Engineer
    Atlanta
    I'm having the same problem. Windows 7, 1GB stock card. Any known solutions? I can't seem to get the rom downgrade to work, so I was hoping that formatting to fat32 would fix but...I'm stuck.
     
  5. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    3,121
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008


    windows is VERY quirky when it comes to the g1 and sd cards... for partitioning i recommend Paragon for windows and g-parted for linux.... and for the life of me i cant find it now but i know there are updated/new drivers for the g1 on windows floating around on XDA and a few other places... ill keep looking but i know vista and 7 need the new drivers....
     
  6. kidnoble

    kidnoble Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009

    I was JUST about to post about this very same problem
     
  7. Breakthecycle2

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009

    Jul 10, 2009
    22
    0
    15
    Get a class 6 SD card.
     
  8. kidnoble

    kidnoble Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009

    does class 6 mean a 6 gig?
     
  9. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    211
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    SD cards are rated by class 2, 4, or 6 to denote Write Speed ... Class 6 being the fastest and best used for cameras to store the just taken pic ...

    Size is independent of class ...
    SDHC micro cards come in GB sizes 1,2,4,8,16, and 32 GB sizes ...
     

Share This Page

Loading...