1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

ROMs Formatting the boot partition then flashing a new image?

Discussion in 'Android Development' started by Motorhead1991, May 13, 2012.

  1. Motorhead1991

    Motorhead1991 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    831
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    831
    134
    113
    Student, Clearfield Job Corps, Diesel program
    Pasco, WA
    Title says it all. I altered a boot image but can't get it past the initial AT&T screen. Will formatting the boot partition fix this or make it worse?

    Specs:
    ZTE Avail
    -CWM ver. 5.0.2.0 (I think)
    -modified Anthony062991 one.two
    -2gb sd

    I used cygwin to alter the stock boot image, to rewrite part of init.rc in an attempt to move the dalvik to an empty partition (I've been using a script so far). Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    The boot "partition" contains the boot.img which is needed to boot. Formatting the boot "partition" removes the contents I.e. the boot.img

    You need to replace the broken boot.img with a know working one
     
  3. Motorhead1991

    Motorhead1991 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    831
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    831
    134
    113
    Student, Clearfield Job Corps, Diesel program
    Pasco, WA
    Sounds like a bad idea then... Know any programs that can check my modified image for errors? i'd like to get it working
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,304
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Not really. What did you put in?
     
  5. Motorhead1991

    Motorhead1991 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    831
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    831
    134
    113
    Student, Clearfield Job Corps, Diesel program
    Pasco, WA
    I unzipped the ramdisk gzip and changed the part that dictated init.rc. I also tried adding a modified init.rc to the "out" folder from the ramdisk. Neither attempt booted, getting stuck at the AT&T screen (it's first in line).
     
  6. Motorhead1991

    Motorhead1991 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    831
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012

    Mar 7, 2012
    831
    134
    113
    Student, Clearfield Job Corps, Diesel program
    Pasco, WA
    I've got a dormmate here that has computer programmers in his family, I may have them look over the boot image I modified.
     

Share This Page

Loading...