1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support FoxFi (hotspot usage)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dagold, Jun 9, 2012.

  1. dagold

    dagold Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    8
    2
    6
    This is strange. Installed Foxfi on new Sprint htc evo 4g lte. Go to Foxfi and Check Activate Wifi Hotspot. Shows a different network Name on my IPAD. I put
     

    Advertisement

  2. mak916

    mak916 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #159
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,244
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    1,244
    291
    163
    Male
    Sacramento, CA.
     
  3. ryder4321

    ryder4321 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    36
    13
    18
    I have Foxfi installed on my eltevo. I am able to connect my ipad2 with no issues. From what I've researched, the downside is the security future is not working on our phone. So pretty much use at your own risk.
     
  4. mak916

    mak916 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #159
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,244
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    1,244
    291
    163
    Male
    Sacramento, CA.
    I did not know it worked on the LTEvo. That's good to know. But maybe the security thing will work in a future update. Have you tried contacting the developer?
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  5. Cactus73

    Cactus73 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    60
    34
    23
    Coeur d'Alene, ID
    I sent an email to Foxfi. They are aware that their App works with the EVO LTE and that we are unable to encrypt the signal. They are working on a fix.
     
    Lowbird, ryder4321 and marctronixx like this.
  6. Edshore

    Edshore Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012

    Jun 6, 2012
    4
    3
    6
    Cape Coral, FL
    FoxFi is not listed in Play Store for my Sprint EVO LTE. When I check online it is not available for the LTE. My phone is not rooted. Is there another way to download FoxFi. The Play Store only has FoxFi AddOn as an option for download.
     
  7. Skid71

    Skid71 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012

    Apr 4, 2012
    51
    53
    33
    Foreign Dictator
    Kansas City
    i believe upon Sprint's request, it was removed from the play store.
    It's my understanding you can download Foxfi through the Amazon AppStore.

    Give it a shot
     
    Edshore likes this.
  8. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
     #74
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    The official foxfi web site allows you to download it directly. You'll need to allow the installation of 3rd party apps on your phone.

    FoxFi - Turn Android into free WiFi Hotspot (no root)
     
    watox69, Ecktore and Edshore like this.
  9. Cactus73

    Cactus73 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    60
    34
    23
    Coeur d'Alene, ID

    ....or you can put your phone in airplane mode, turn on wiFi, then download it from the Play Store.
     
    jxker, REEF, Skid71 and 2 others like this.
  10. shiner-bock-beer

    shiner-bock-beer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    78
    16
    18
    Sales
    Cave Creek, AZ
    I've tried FoxFi, Wireless Tether and OpenGarden. I have been able to connect my home PC to all three, but because the phone (I'm assuming) is making the signal an Ad-Hoc network, my work laptop won't allow me to connect. Is there a way to change the settings so it is just a wireless signal?
     
  11. imaginess

    imaginess Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    6
    3
    6
    I noticed it was not available on the google play store. You can get FoxFi from the amazon app store. I havent really played with it to see if it is working
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  12. dagold

    dagold Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    8
    2
    6
    Received this email today from Foxfi.

    "This issue is now fixed in version 1.91."
     
    marctronixx and CriticalCritic like this.
  13. SmoovC

    SmoovC Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    49
    13
    18
    Graham, Kracka'!
    I confirmed that it does work on my non-rooted EVO 4G LTE. Renamed the network and password, and connected to my Xoom tablet...... like a champ!
     
    marctronixx and novox77 like this.
  14. shiner-bock-beer

    shiner-bock-beer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    78
    16
    18
    Sales
    Cave Creek, AZ
    Fixed my Ad-Hoc issue using FoxFi. Slow though. When is LTE coming to the 6th largest metro area? Maybe there's still a chance 4G will make it?
     
  15. dr g

    dr g Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    589
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    589
    187
    93
    I cannot seem to find 1.91, where is it?
     
  16. SmoovC

    SmoovC Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    49
    13
    18
    Graham, Kracka'!
    FoxFi Installer
     
  17. Sauske

    Sauske Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    524
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    524
    351
    113
    Student...for now!
    Orlando, Fl
    Even though Sprint had this app removed, when you put it back on your phone, will Sprint be able to tell what your doing sense the phone is not rooted!?
     
  18. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
     #74
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,965
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,965
    3,257
    413
    The app provides a proxy server to mask internet traffic originating from the tethered devices. But you will need to specify the proxy server on each device that is tethered to your phone.
     
  19. Sauske

    Sauske Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    524
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    524
    351
    113
    Student...for now!
    Orlando, Fl
    So it wouldn't do it automatically for you!? I'm rooted already, I'm debating whether it would be easier to root my bothers fone or just install FoxFi, as the tethering feature his is only concern!
     
  20. bupolo

    bupolo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    278
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010

    Nov 23, 2010
    278
    39
    43
    Male
    Los Angeles
    Do you guys really need to use FoxFi for the LTE? I've been playing with mine (got it on Saturday, GIGGITY) and it has the hotspot feature. I messed around with it, expecting to get that Sprint warning "You don't have this feature available to you" and it didn't pop up, and I was able to send out a WiFi signal. Does it not work, or does it stop working after awhile?
     
  21. luvmynad

    luvmynad Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    65
    30
    23
    I believe the first 30 days of owning the phone that the hotspot feature on the phone is free and after that the fees apply. That has been the case with the OG Evo and Photon.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  22. WifiMaxed

    WifiMaxed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    288
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011

    Mar 27, 2011
    288
    382
    88
    FoxFi reported as being nerf'd by Sprint :p Anyone seeing this on LTEvo yet? If that is the case, dang Sprint is fast!
     
  23. shiner-bock-beer

    shiner-bock-beer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    78
    16
    18
    Sales
    Cave Creek, AZ
    I haven't been able to use FoxFi with any type of reliability. I've tried it several times and it will work for 20 seconds, then reset. Repeat over and over.

    Has any other tethering been working with factory set up or rooted either one?
     
  24. wi11iamcody

    wi11iamcody Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012

    Jul 3, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    How do I set my proxy server address on my computer?
     
  25. darkleafar

    darkleafar Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    53
    9
    16
    So after updating to jelly bean, one of the first things I noticed is that every time I turn on my foxfi it now triggers sprint mobile hotspot to on automatically. This makes me a bit afraid of using it. So, my questions:
    1. There is no data fees warnings or anything when sprint mobile hotspot switches to on. Does that mean that it doesn't cost money or does it mean sprint is a sneaky little bastard?
    2. If I turn off sprint mobile hotspot right after it turns itself on but leave foxfi on would I be safe?
    3. If foxfi simply doesn't work anymore, what are my alternatives other than rooting?

    I'm on my way to a getaway trip so hopefully one of you kind folks has some kinda answer before we arrive at the hotel. Thanks .
     

Share This Page

Loading...