1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General FoxFi on S3/note2 on Verizon

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by evile84, Jan 6, 2013.

  1. evile84

    evile84 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    27
    1
    16
    Male
    I get to upgrade soon and I am looking at getting an S3 or note 2. Right now I use a Droid Bionic rooted and using Foxfi for free wifi tethering with my unlimted data plan. Just wondering if FoxFi or another similar app works on the S3 so I can continue with my free tethering
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Works on most S3's. Biggest exception being Verizon running jellybean because the way they see it, if you haven't paid for tethering, you're stealing.

    Other versions like the international have this function built in anyway.
     
  3. evile84

    evile84 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    27
    1
    16
    Male
    and I am on verizon right now
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Well there you go then ;)
     
  5. evile84

    evile84 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012

    Jan 1, 2012
    27
    1
    16
    Male
    so its a no go for free wifi tethering if I upgrade to an S3 rooted or not?
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    If you can get one that comes with ICS, it used to work. Otherwise, they fixed it on their JB release.

    It may be worth changing the thread title to "Verizon, JB & Foxfi" or something to get the attention of other Verizon users?
     
    Ortiz750ss likes this.
  7. smoothoper

    smoothoper Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    Foxfi works for me just fine. The Verizon hotspot app does pop-up but to my knowledge does not actually connect unless your subscribed. Give it a shot...
     
    Ortiz750ss likes this.
  8. hal1

    hal1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    951
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    951
    206
    93
    Exact same for me. I think you can even close the Verizon Hotspot app after it opens and Foxfi continues to work. Since the VZ hotspot tells you that you are not subscribed and to call VZ to set it up I am assuming it is not charging you.
     
  9. cobra46

    cobra46 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    Foxfi works great on my Verizon S3 with Jellybean.
     
  10. javamann

    javamann Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    383
    58
    83
    Male
    Retired
    USA:Poconos & Florida
    If, for some reason you can't get Foxfi to work, try PDANET. Been using it for a coupld of years w/o a problem. Although haven't tried it with JB as yet.

    JM
     
  11. Profaniter

    Profaniter Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012

    Oct 25, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    I have a Note 2 with Verizon and I tried Foxfi, but not too long because I get paranoid easily. but what I want to know is how to not get detected by Verizon if I use Foxfi. When I started it up, I saw the mobile hotspot app pops up on the top screen at the same time the Foxfi started running, so on that part, I get concerned, I want to get around and make sure I don't get charged another extra $30 for just using their mobile hotspot, it's kinda stupid really but yeah..
    so what is the solution? should I scroll down the notification bar, then long press the mobile hotspot, then select force stop? if I do that, Foxfi will no longer works.. so again, what's the solution?

    I'm running Jelly Bean on 4.1.2 on Note 2 with Verizon
     

Share This Page

Loading...