1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

FoxFi/PDANet as HotSpot

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by RJB, Jan 24, 2014.

  1. RJB

    RJB Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    68
    0
    15
    I've seen a lot of posts with people having trouble with this, wondering if anyone found solutions. (The two solutions I found did nothing for me).

    I have been running PDANet over the years to tether a variety of Samsung devices.

    I am now trying to use the HotSpot function over TMo on a Samsung Galaxy Note running ICS.

    When I launch the HotSpot, it says it's connected. The blue "activated" icon appears in the upper left of the screen.

    On my Windows PCs, the name of the network shows up in my list of available networks. It asks for a password. Then the PC says it is unable to connect.

    This has happened at home, and on the road - so it's not just "my" local cell.

    I have consistently been able to tether, but the hotspot has never worked from the first I've tried it.

    I do not have Bluetooth on. Obviously, WiFi is turned off.

    I am running JuiceDefender, and have granted PDANet and FoxFi full override access. I have also turned off JuiceDefender, which has not made a difference.

    I have tried changing both the network names and the passwords for the hotspot, and rebooted the phone after doing so.

    I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling both PDANet and redownloading the full access key.

    This happens on multiple PCs running Win 7.

    Any further suggestions would be groovy.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Check with TMobile. They may not be allowing tethering unless you pay for a tethering account.
     
  3. RJB

    RJB Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    68
    0
    15
    Tethering works. Hotspot doesn't.

    All indicators on the phone are A-OK, it's the PC that won't connect.
     
  4. GlenAM

    GlenAM Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014

    Jan 23, 2014
    13
    0
    15
    Male
    Retiree
    Oklahoma
    Check Kyocera Event on this forum. I got it to work several days ago using Bluetooth Server.
    g
     

Share This Page

Loading...