1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Free Wireless Tether Works with Root.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mitchell4500, Mar 19, 2011.

  1. Mitchell4500

    Mitchell4500 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    401
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    401
    68
    63
    Student
    USA
    Wireless Tether is a free app on the market that works with the Thunderbolt. It allows you to tether your laptop and other device to it for free with no additonal data costs even after may 15.

    Simply Root, and download from the market :D

    I get better speeds with wireless tether then the Mobile Hotspot app.

    This message was posted using wireless tether :D

    [​IMG]
    2 Bars - 4g lte
     

    Advertisement

    HTCThunderbolt likes this.
  2. cbanning

    cbanning Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    214
    5
    36
    Arvada, CO
    "simply root?" didn't think that was possible yet?
     
  3. odiej34

    odiej34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    512
    55
    78
    Arizona

    What he said.
     
  4. howarmat

    howarmat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1,580
    229
    163
    Generation Dispatcher
    Noblesville, IN
    you can root, its not simple though at all
     
  5. Mitchell4500

    Mitchell4500 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    401
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    401
    68
    63
    Student
    USA
    Lol my bad. Yeah it took forever. But I mean like All you need to do is root. Nothing else special for it to work. I know for the LG Ally It required some special mods and stuff. But on the thunderbolt it works fine.
     
  6. dsb9938

    dsb9938 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    216
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    216
    82
    53
    Datacenter Manager
    Edison, NJ
    It may take a little time to do, only because of the flashing, but it is really quite simple. Such an immediate gratification world we live in today.
     
  7. odiej34

    odiej34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    512
    55
    78
    Arizona
    Even if someone (ME):D has not ever messed with adb? I would love to give it a try but don't want to get in over my head.
    Thanks!
     
    cbanning likes this.
  8. Odinist

    Odinist Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    149
    36
    43
    IT
    Okc, OK
    I completely disagree. It's simple as hell, if you can read and follow directions. It's more time consuming than a one click, sure. But it's not difficult in the least.
     
  9. Mitchell4500

    Mitchell4500 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    401
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    401
    68
    63
    Student
    USA
    If you have basic computer skills like File System Knowledge and CMD Knowledge youll be good.
     
  10. howarmat

    howarmat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    1,580
    229
    163
    Generation Dispatcher
    Noblesville, IN
    last i looked you still had to downgrade your software to do it. things might have changed since, i havent looked at the process in a couple days
     
  11. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,756
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    2,756
    554
    313
    Male
    Jr. I.T. Support Tech @ Amazon
    Plainfield, Indiana
    Yeah but like some are saying the process is extremely easy. It might take some time but man all you need to know how to do is copy and paste and know how to read.

    I am thankful for quicker root methods, but I think anyone who wants to root should have to do this at least once. This way when something goes wrong they can try and troubleshoot on their own first.

    But to each their own.
     
  12. xketchupx

    xketchupx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    84
    1
    16
    soon to be something...
    central valley, ca
    does it work to share your 4g connection? or jst 3g?
     
  13. dallasboycows

    dallasboycows Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    same question does 4g tether yet or just 3g?
     
  14. Padron26

    Padron26 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    136
    12
    38
    Florida
    4g would be awesome, but as long as the signal doesn't drop like my DX. Did constantly
     
  15. Droopie28

    Droopie28 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    72
    4
    16
    working real good, almost as fast as my home connection, nice find!
     
  16. digdug1

    digdug1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,965
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,965
    309
    163
    yep using it now. i have used it for years on my d1 then my x now my thunderbolt :)
     
  17. HTCThunderbolt

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    1,127
    194
    143
    Need one :(
    Concord NC
    Works great. I get the same speed with both though
     
  18. Droopie28

    Droopie28 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    72
    4
    16
    It boots up fine on my tb, but on my hp envy, it says "no internet" in my wireless assistant...
     
  19. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    This only works for 3G speeds. I wouldn't even sweat this app to be honest. It was great on my Inc, but now that 4G is boss, this app isn't all that. The developers will hack the VZW hotspot app soon just like they did the ones on the Inc and EVO. Then we'll have free 4G speed and it will be great
     
  20. Odinist

    Odinist Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    149
    36
    43
    IT
    Okc, OK
    Incorrect. I *just* used it yesterday with 4G.
     
  21. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    You sure about that? I've heard from numerous people it doesn't support 4G. If it does than I stand corrected, I'd still rather use a cracked hotspot, but thats's just my personal preference
     
  22. Odinist

    Odinist Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    149
    36
    43
    IT
    Okc, OK

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Yes, I'm positive.
     
  23. Jrocker23

    Jrocker23 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    360
    102
    68
    Male
    Law Enforcement
    Staten Island, NY
    Yes it does work on 4G. Im using it as well. I have been using this app since the eris was rooted, its great..
     
  24. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    And an appreciation for polynomial based regression :)

    Calling the process "simple" is as subjective as folks saying they get 12 hours of battery life with heavy use on the TB with the 1400mah battery. One person's "simple/light" equals another person's "hard/heavy".

    Simple rule is when in doubt- don't :)

    The "simple" days like with the Inc and other devices are probably over. The root community will shrink, but less new folks muckin' things up :) Wait, I am one of them.... :(
     
  25. zilla.

    zilla. Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    71
    4
    16
    So as of may 15, verizon will begin charging for the hotspot feature. The ones who have rooted (myself included) will still have the ability to use the hot spot.

    Will verizon ever catch on? There must be a way for them to restrict this right?
     

Share This Page

Loading...