1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Freedom Pro Bluetooth Keyboard: ctrl, alt keys?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by skou2, May 27, 2010.

  1. skou2

    skou2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hi all;

    Has anybody else tried the new 2.0/2.1 beta driver for the Freedom Pro Bluetooth keyboard on the Nexus One? It seems to work well enough, as long as you're happy sticking with preinstalled applications, like gmail. But I ran into a snag when trying to run a remote emacs session on a linux machine (using ConnectBot to ssh in): keys like ctrl-x or alt-x are not understood, which is rather important in emacs... I tried various terminal emulator modes, I tried fiddling around with key bindings in emacs, and nothing works. Any suggestions? It seems that the F keys on the keyboard can only be bound to starting applications on the phone anyway, they cannot be remapped to arbitrarily useful things...

    Thanks,

    Stephane
     

    Advertisement

  2. unfrostedpoptart

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    6
    1
    6
    Any luck on this? I don't have an Android phone yet, but this is exactly the kind of thing I'd want to do on it.
     
  3. mynamewastaken

    mynamewastaken Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    302
    81
    73
    Bump.. looking to pick up a bluetooth keyboard for my EVO and ssh would be one of the primary uses.
     
  4. Maris

    Maris Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    188
    24
    58
    Ohio
    I've been waiting for an updated driver as the one I have says for 1.5. I'm not seeing it listed on their site. Where did you find it?

    Have you tried an app called BlueInput from the market? It also works with the FreedomPro, with just a few glitches.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...