1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Frequent loss of 4g lately

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmz768, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. jmz768

    jmz768 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    267
    22
    38
    For the past week or so, I've been experiencing 4g drops numerous times a day. Anybody else? I'm in the metro-Detroit area.
     

    Advertisement

    greggzero likes this.
  2. Chiups

    Chiups Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    On a related note I woke up to find my TB on 1X this morning. So I'm guessing 4g is down again. I'm in the Miami area.
     
  3. BMF136

    BMF136 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    39
    1
    16
    I've noticed the same thing when I'm in the city (Palm Beach Gardens) a few miles from my house (Jupiter), I get a mixture of 4g, 3g, and 1x. My 4g reception has been relaible at home so I don't think it's an issue with my phone.

    I was in Miami 2 weekends ago and before leaving to drive home I noticed I was stuck in 1x. Must be a network issue since my wifes Fascinate had solid 3g...
     
  4. neelmehta

    neelmehta Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    I was having the same problem for at least a week of losing 4G, 3G and data altogether at various times. Of course, Verizon made it seem like it was my phone. I land back at LAX tomorrow from the Philippines and am really hoping this problem is fixed by now
     
  5. brandonrr

    brandonrr Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011

    Sep 2, 2011
    37
    2
    16
    seeing this actually makes me happy. i've been dropping down to 3g and 1x multiple times a day for 2 weeks now. i was hoping it was verizon's fault and not my phone's. i'm rooted withe the most recent radio and it would be a PITA to unroot and even more of a PITA to re-enter refurb hell.
     
  6. jmz768

    jmz768 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    267
    22
    38
    I should add that when I lose my 4G, i have no network connection at all. It doesn't go to 3G or 1X and the 4G always comes back, usually in under a minute. If I run straight 3G, I never have a drop.
     
  7. quantumandroid

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011

    Sep 8, 2011
    48
    1
    16
    My advice is to go to a Verizon store. They will give you a new sim card and that shoud do the trick. I only know this because I went through the same thing. Since I have put the card in it works perfect. And I am in the Detroit area. Mine works perfect, trust me try it.
     
  8. Blamdroid

    Blamdroid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011

    Oct 30, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    San Antonio, TX
    May a new sim card will work but I'm in the San Antonio, TX area and have notice it will drop 4G and go to 3G sometimes or just 1x. Sometimes I can manually go into settings>wirless & networks>Mobile Networks and it's as if like magic it automatically says "oh crap I'm supposed to be on 4G" and will switch automatically. Sometimes, not so much and I have to toggle between LTE/CDMA and CDMA only modes before it gets the picture. Either way, a reboot usually resolves it.
     
  9. xeno2011

    xeno2011 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    169
    43
    43
    I will lose 4G once in a while as well, with no 3G or 1X, with 4G returning eventually. I also can reboot and it will come back. I think it most likely is software/sim card related since a reboot seems to fix it. Could also be a radio issue.
     
  10. Funderbolt

    Funderbolt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    221
    13
    38
    Male
    engineer
    Va
    I've seen something similar. Seems something I get stuff in a no signal mode, and I have to restart and then it's working again. It doesn't happen really often though.
     
  11. Papadroid

    Papadroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,139
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,139
    281
    183
    Tampa, FL
    It happens to me as well with the exception that I have no data when this happens. I usually can toggle airplane mode to get it back.
     
  12. joelmcq

    joelmcq Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 5, 2011

    May 5, 2011
    6
    3
    6
    This has been happening to both my phone and my wife's phone since the latest OTA update. It's similar to what was happening before Verizon fixed it two updates ago. Seems like the data drop problem is back again.

    Sometimes I can toggle airplane mode, or switch the mobile networks, and that helps, but other times it requires a full reboot. This did not happen before the latest Gingerbread update. Frustrating.

    We spend much of our time in a 4G/3G border area; don't know if that has anything to do with it.
     
  13. mdeblaz

    mdeblaz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    408
    37
    43
    I noticed this too... but I think I have it figured out. You don't need to go to airplane mode. You just need to toggle the Mobile data widget off and on.

    What I've noticed is that when you lose connection, it's not a signal issue. Your phone has actually turned off the data connection. However, your Mobile data widget and your Network settings will show it's still on. BUT under Network settings, the check box will not be highlighted and you will not be able to enable/check it.

    Toggling the Mobile widget will turn it back on.

    Let me know if you find the same thing happening. Anyone know why this happens and what can be done to fix it?
     
  14. eweezy

    eweezy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011

    Nov 1, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    A re-cap of my experience with the data-loss thus far. I am in San Antonio, TX as well and have been experiencing the unexplained loss of 4G/3G/1X, getting stuck in 1X etc... for several months. I finally got a replacment TB and new SIM card; problem still exists :thinking: I called VZW in a fit of rage yesterday and they simply explained that doing a hard pull of the batterey will fix it. They were right it fixed it temporarily... I then got the OTA and things seem to be a bit better. I heard GB included updated radio coding...who really knows? I'm inclined to think its the device and not the network, perhaps a software issue with transitioning between signals.
     
  15. racefan25

    racefan25 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    80
    5
    16
    Male
    Pittsburgh Pa
    Same thing here in Pittsburgh for the last 2 weeks. I have 1X more that 3G or 4G:mad:and have to disable internet and then enable it to get it off 1X
     
  16. PoweredByLE5

    PoweredByLE5 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009

    Sep 27, 2009
    167
    8
    36
    NYC
    All these drops are giving a really bad rap for verizon for supposedly being the best in service. Its starting to make me regret leaving tmobile for it. I never had these network/service issues. I had much better service. I mean sure there were some areas where there were dead zones, but compared to verizon I got much better network/service. And i'm not getting 4g where I should be according to their coverage map. 4g now is ending up being just as fast as tmobiles 4g. And tmobiles 3g is faster. Yeah I really should of stayed with tmobile....
     
  17. AnddyDiablo

    AnddyDiablo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I've had this issue for a month or so now and posted it on another forum where people were reporting the same issue. My phone is rooted and I actually changed from Froyo to a Gingerbread ROM yesterday which has seemed to help with the signal issues, but leaves me wondering why? Does anyone have any idea if it is the OS version or maybe a radio that affects the 4G connectivity vs. what Verizon has on their end? I don't know too much about what goes on there so was looking for a little insight to understand better.
     
  18. Rommel1

    Rommel1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    May 5, 2011

    May 5, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    New york
    I used to get mostly 4G, 1X in bad areas and hardly ever 3G. Ever since the gingerbread update it's been switching like crazy. Much less 4G, more 3G and sometimes nothing. I'll try toggling data on/off.
    Thanks
     
  19. joelmcq

    joelmcq Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 5, 2011

    May 5, 2011
    6
    3
    6
    None of the fixes above worked for me. Toggling data, airplane, etc. sometimes worked but more often than not I had to do a battery pull reboot. Problems always seemed to happen whenever I was changing from 4G to 3G areas, 3G to 4G areas, or even WiFi to 3G/4G.

    Finally I just turned off 4G completely (choosing "CDMA Only" in network settings) and I've had no problems since. Definitely something buggy in the handoff when LTE mode is active. Turning it off fixed it, but now I have no 4G.

    Though I'll take consistent 3G over frequent disconnects.
     
  20. jaybeewaybee

    jaybeewaybee Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010

    Feb 1, 2010
    56
    23
    18
    Video Engineer
    Los Angeles
    FYI... I just went through this with tech support. They determined that it WAS my phone in this case. Didn't want a refurb, but there was no other choice. Support was absolutely right.
    The refurb was in pristeen shape and the difference in broadband performance was dramatic. Rooting/urooting/rooting was not a big deal at all.
    So...sometimes it's just a bad phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...