1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Fresh 2.1.1 vs Fresh 2.1.2 hmmmmm

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jeffreynothing43, Jun 13, 2010.

  1. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    337
    5
    36
    unemployed
    The Triangle, North Carolina
    hey anyone out there.

    i am curious if anyone can tell me the advantages and disadvantages of these two roms in a straight forward manner.

    i flashed both and noticed that the keyboard in 2.1.2 was slower, coming out of apps i'd get a 'loading' screen sometimes, i lost like 50 plus MB memory, AND there was no haptic feedback in dialer, and when on the phone i had to press red button instead of any button to get a screen.

    i read flipz notes, but i'd like a user friendly answer on why 2.1.2 is actually worth using over 2.1.1.

    any opinions welcome.

    thanks!!

    dave
     

    Advertisement

  2. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    2.1.2 is more stable, more complete and is deoxed. It can be themed and more.

    I ran 2.1.1 but upgraded to 2.1.2. Couldn't be happier :)
     
  3. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    337
    5
    36
    unemployed
    The Triangle, North Carolina
    what's up with the huge loss in memory? have you experienced text lag with .2?
     
  4. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    Ok, as stated in the release notes, this ROM does use up more memory as it is deoxded. To be honest, I could care less. There are a ton of people that are obsessed with "stats," like "I need x free memory" or the like. To be perfectly honest, I ran Fresh 2.1.1 and now I run 2.1.2. I haven't had any issues with it having less memory. I once used an app called SysTray. It displayed Free memory and RAM. I found myself constantly checking it to see where I was it. This became more of a hassle and fixation than anything. I have removed that app and haven't used it for a good while now. I have found that if you let the phone run as it is meant to, all works out just fine. This applies to task killers as well.

    As for lag, I don't have any.
     
  5. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    Furthermore, if you are curious and want to know more, I recommend talking to 330D. I recently helped him get from 2.1.1 to 2.1.2. He might have some good "experiences" to share with you.
     
  6. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY

    Funny you should mention.... I was just gonna say that 2.1.2 is excellent. I was running 2.1.1, and kinda hung up on it because it worked so well, but wanted to be able to flash the vanilla lockscreen. Soooooo, I tried 2.1.2, and had a couple small issues getting it to work, but with a minor amount of effort, 2.1.2 is way better than .1.1. It is quick, customizable, and Launcher Pro is worth the swap by itself. I thought that I "needed" sense, but since running LP, I wouldn't buy another sense phone. It is a different animal all together. I love how it integrates the app tray into the home screen. It looks a lot less cluttered, and it is so cool how the home screens will rotate! I love 2.1.2, and am very glad I switched.:D
     
  7. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010

    Mar 26, 2010
    337
    5
    36
    unemployed
    The Triangle, North Carolina
    cool man. :)

    i was just messing around with the htc ime mod keyboard... what are your thoughts on that verses touch input?

    how do you flash the vanilla lock screen? please...thanks.
     
  8. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY

    I use swype. I wouldn't use any other keyboard.

    As far as the lockscreen, just like a rom. Put it on the root of the sd card, reboot to recovery, flash zip from sd. (Always after a nandroid backup)

    there is an su fix you need to flash, in order to keep everything working correctly. You can find all you need, here:

    Download: Fresh Rom 2.1.2 Geek For Me – Sprint Evo 4g & CDMA Hero
     
  9. littlewhiteowl

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    May 8, 2010
    35
    9
    36
    Co-owner, Russell Guitars
    North California
    Would someone direct me to the instructions for the Fresh update? I'm on Sprint HTC Hero with Fresh 2.0d since May 7. I'm loving it, but thought I would come in and see about updates. Thank you so much!!!
     
  10. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY

    Download the rom and the su fix/ vanilla lockscreen (if you want it) from the link above, reboot to recovery, do a nandroid backup, Then flash the rom, the su fix from zip, just like you did to get 2.0d on your phone.
     
  11. littlewhiteowl

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    May 8, 2010
    35
    9
    36
    Co-owner, Russell Guitars
    North California
    Thanks, 330D! What is "su" fix?

    So I do exactly what I did before, wiping everything and basically starting over? I used some forum directions and also watched a youtube video to get through it, and had to do it a few times. I hope it goes more smoothly this time. :)

    Thanks.
     
  12. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    For those looking to upgrade/flash new, here is what you do:

    Follow the instructions as before if you have already flashed a ROM. If not, read up on the tutorials. After you have flashed Fresh 2.1.2, look further down on the thread about it. You will see the SU fix is right there with it :). It even links you on where/how to get/do it.
     
  13. themadgreek187

    Rank:
     #1,193
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    72
    1
    16
    Male
    IT
    Florida
    i tried 2.1.2 and was working well UNTIL i setup my exchange account on it. then i get boot looped. any ideas?
     
  14. sarspants

    sarspants Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    111
    6
    36
    Anyone getting varying battery life with this ROM? Yesterday I unplugged around 7:30am and was down to 17% by 1:00am the next day. But some days I'll unplug around 9:00am and be down to about 55% at 11:00pm (4.74% drain per hour vs 3.21%) with very similar use. Spare parts and running services doesn't show anything out of the ordinary and I never had bad battery life back in the fresh 1.1 or 2.0d days.
     
  15. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    Don't use it for my work phone, so can't help you there.

    No battery issues at all. I suggest checking out settings>about>battery and check and see what your Time Without Signal is. Otherwise, you already checked spare parts as you stated. I have had no battery problems unless I'm in a poor coverage area, which of course will drain your battery faster.
     
  16. themadgreek187

    Rank:
     #1,193
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    72
    1
    16
    Male
    IT
    Florida

    ok then. guess its back to 2.1.1or aloysius 2.1
     
  17. sarspants

    sarspants Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    111
    6
    36

    Time without a signal is usually around 6%
     
  18. chuhsi

    chuhsi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    120
    5
    36
  19. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    Those of you having issues with Exchange, if you can do what Flipz asked and get a debug log of what is going on, it will help him. Refer to the link above or here for more info.
     
  20. themadgreek187

    Rank:
     #1,193
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    72
    1
    16
    Male
    IT
    Florida
    sure i'll try it. not sure how to go about getting a debug log from a phone. i'll google.
     
  21. ccapasso

    ccapasso Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,127
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,127
    278
    163
    If you have Fresh Kitchen I believe there is a debug option on there.

    Not 100% sure but there might be.
     
  22. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,081
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    1,081
    78
    128
    I dunno, I tried 2.1.2 twice and it just didn't work for me. It was laggier than 2.0d which I love. The only huge plus is that the keyboard was better on .2
     
  23. NotSure

    NotSure Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Morehead City, NC

    I put the same keyboard from .2 on 2.0d
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...