1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Fresh 2.1.2 out

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bob Loblaw, May 25, 2010.

  1. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    47
    2
    16

    Advertisement

    SlothyUK likes this.
  2. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA
    don't forget to make a nandroid backup before flashing...
     
  3. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    47
    2
    16
    Always. Is busy box supposed to be showing up in my programs list?
     
  4. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA
    no
    all busy box is is a set of linux commands that were left out and are needed in order to perform a lot of SU actions
     
  5. bizarrogreg

    bizarrogreg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    71
    16
    38
    Technician (Sprint)
    Did you flash over 2.1.1, or wipe?
     
  6. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    47
    2
    16
    OK. Thanks. I wasn't sure and when it didn't show up I was worried. Also, when I go to airplane mode and back the lock screen still says no SIM card and leaves the emergency call button up. Is there a fix to that?
     
  7. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    47
    2
    16

    Flashed over. Flipz said you could do it so I did. Just do a nandroid first in case you run into any problems. Actually I flashed 2.1.1 over 2.0d first with no problems. Just remember to do a nandroid though.
     
  8. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA

    have you done a reboot since flashing?
     
  9. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    47
    2
    16
    I flashed, rebooted, then flashed his vanilla lockscreen fix, then rebooted again. I went into airplane mode and back out and it left the no sim card/emergency call button on. I'll reboot and see what happens.
     
  10. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA
    I'm flashing right now and will try to duplicate it
     
  11. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    47
    2
    16
    Just rebooted again and it went away. I just won't use airplane mode unless I want the emergency button stuck on there.

    Anyway 2.1.2 is fast fast fast! I didn't really use 2.1.1 so I can't compare but compared to 2.0d it's night and day. No more keyboard lag and my apps like Slacker and Pandora load sooooo much faster. Big ups to Flipz for all his hard work.
     
  12. Aleko

    Aleko Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    49
    1
    36
    I just flashed 2.1.2 over 2.1.1 and my WiFi Tether will no longer work, all I get is "Unable to start tethering. Please try again." message. It worked fine in 2.1.1. The Bluetooth tethering is still Force Closing, just like it did in 2.1.1.
     
  13. kilofox13

    kilofox13 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    24
    16
    18
    Active duty Air Force
    Alabama
    Flashing 2.1.2 now. Had been running 2.0d until a couple days ago when I upgraded to 2.1.1 I tried to cut a corner and flash both the 2.1.2 and vanilla update without the restart in between. Hopefully it works, if not I'll restore to my nandroid backup, and reflash with the restart in between.
     
  14. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    47
    2
    16
    Same here. I'll post it in flipz website.
     
  15. Aleko

    Aleko Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    49
    1
    36
    Thanks. I was just going to do the same, but I'll let you do it since I'm not even registered there yet. Just FYI, I tried uninstalling it and re-installing the 1.6 version from their website and still didn't work. I also tried uninstalling it and re-installing 2.0.1 version and it still didn't work. Finally, I just restored my 2.1.1 backup and everything is working fine again.
     
  16. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009

    Oct 3, 2009
    365
    37
    43
    Civil Engineer
    Aurora, IL
    I've read a few posts of people saying that it "unrooted" their phone. I'm not even sure how that is possible, but has anyone had any major issues like that? I've got it loaded up ready to flash (nandroid backup already made) but I just want to get a few more comments.
     
  17. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    47
    2
    16
    I had no such problems. Honestly, I don't even see how that would happen. They probably weren't rooted to being with.
     
  18. jmonahan

    jmonahan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    May 8, 2010
    40
    3
    16
    Can anyone tell me if 2.1.2 fixes the phone call issues that i am having on a regular basis now. (Calls connect but no audio and the caller can not hear me) Other than this issue i am digging 2.1.1. Thanks
     
  19. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    47
    2
    16
  20. kilofox13

    kilofox13 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    24
    16
    18
    Active duty Air Force
    Alabama
    Update! All is well. no need to restart in between. everything seems to be running well. the new lwp is awesome, and my Hero is screaming fast!
     
  21. nodrogkam

    nodrogkam Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    158
    11
    38
    Student/IT
    San Franciscio, CA
    it doesn't unroot it, but for me wireless tether doesn't work and free space has gone down significantly.

    i had 2.1.1 and just did an upgrade to 2.1.2. it saved my settings and layout and programs etc. but i went from 76mb free to 30mb free and there is more lag with the new animations even after restarts.
     
  22. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA
    I had that issue on 2.1.1 until I flashed the audio fix. I also tested on 2.1.2 and have not had it happen yet.
     
  23. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    47
    2
    16

    See above for wireless tether fix.
     
    nodrogkam likes this.
  24. NotSure

    NotSure Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Morehead City, NC
    I had this same issue with 2.1.1, facebook only syncs updates for new photo albums. I liked the old feature that showed everyones brithday. Am I just missing a setting?
     
  25. jmonahan

    jmonahan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    May 8, 2010
    40
    3
    16
    mystic what fix is that i must have missed it
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...