1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Freshly Partitioned..

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MattDawgyDog, Sep 19, 2011.

  1. MattDawgyDog

    MattDawgyDog Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011

    Aug 26, 2011
    17
    0
    15
    Just picked up a 16g card and wondering what is a good rom to give a2sd a go on? Looking for a solid Sense rom but not totally sold on any of the 3.5 roms yet. Anything mik related? I'll be partitioning through Amon RA if that makes a difference. Would like to try DarkTremors a2sd because it seems this will be used a lot more in the future. Any suggestions for a starting point?

    On a quick side note - since I converted from clockword to amon, I can delete the clockwork folder on the root of my old card without any issues, correct? Also, I won't have any problems with transferring all contents of my 8g card to my newly partitioned 16g will I?

    Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    Mik3d beta 1 supports a2sd but doesn't need dark tremors.

    i have used the goldenmonkey1.1 kernel with it. It has a patch you can use to fix the broken voice search function a well.

    Your mileage may vary, but i have found it to be very stable.

    You could save that folder to your pc, especially if you have backups in it, but no problem deleting it from card.

    I put stuff from my 8gig original card onto my 16 gig card with no issues.
     
  3. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    You WANT to use DT though, huh?

    let me quote you what OcnBrze told me when I was playing with this,

    "you do not need dt for this rom. checkout the op it will either say that has a2sd built in which usually means it is cm a2sd. or it will say that it has dt a2sd."

    So i would suggest, if no one has an answer for you, straight out, would be to check the roms and kernels page and go to the developers pages and see what they are offering.

    sorry couldn't be more help.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  4. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids
    i know you can use DT b4 on the Kinged Pyramid Rom...i believe the Kings Shooter rom has DT b4 baked into the newest version...RLS 2.3 i think it is....it would say on the dev's page...i personally like the Nocturnal Bliss Rom with sense 3.5....it already has DT b4 baked into the rom...
     
    ocnbrze and dustwun77 like this.
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    also some roms will say that it support a2sd which does not mean that it is built in. however, it does means that you can use dark tremors to move apps to the card.
     
  6. myea_one

    myea_one Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    126
    54
    53
    NY
    Can anyone elaborate more on this topic, I know im not the only one confused with the a2sd topic. I have mik3d running and to my understanding a2sd is built In. Now after that I am totally lost as to what to do next, how to properly use this feature or when to use it.....PLZ some1 help!!!:thinking::thinking::thinking::eek:
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    most of the info is in the http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...ooting-dummies-guide-gingerbread-edition.html, under partitioning and moving your apps section. but i will try to explain it here.

    first off you need your card partitioned in order to use a2sd. please see the guide on how to do it. also it is recommended that you have a class 6 or higher because since the apps will be on your card, your apps will be reading and writing onto the card. if you have a higher speed card, the better the performance the app will have. however, most apps are simple and do not need the speed. but if you have apps like games or something intensive then the higher the class the better.

    there are two ways to move apps to the card. the first way is what google ame up with for android which was first introduced in froyo. what it does is that it moves part of your app to the card. the other part stays on your phone, but because it is split like that any widgets associated with the app will not work. titanium backup also uses apps2sd to move apps to the card as well.

    now a2sd is much different. what is does is that it creates a symbolic link on the phone to tell it where to find the app on your card. there are two types one is cm and the other is darktremors(dt). with cm it is usually already cooked into the rom and will automatically move apps to the card. dt is a script that you flash and you need terminal emulator to enter commands to tell dt to move the apps to the card. you can get instructions in the guide as well as a list of commands for dt.

    mik3d has cm a2sd cooked in so when you restore your apps if your card is partitioned it will be moved automatically.
     
    myea_one likes this.
  8. MattDawgyDog

    MattDawgyDog Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011

    Aug 26, 2011
    17
    0
    15
    Thanks for the help OCN, had this question all day and you've already half-answered it before I got the chance to ask! One of the back-ups from titanium I reinstalled was app2sd which tried to move apps to the card but failed. With Mik3d and a partitioned card this process will happen automatically without any user interaction necessary? I was originally looking all around the market for a a2sd app or something of that nature because I'd never read HOW to move the apps to the card - this is why I asked about darktremors, because it seemed like the process required you to actually interact with the software to move the apps to the card, thus "verifying" that you did something to move the apps.

    So basically from this point should I be able to just dump App2SD, move apps back to "phone" where they will be put into the partitioned part of the card automatically? Or will I need to dump App2SD, reflash the rom and let it do it's thing as I back up with titanium? Hopefully some of this makes sense!

    Digging Mik3d but more freedom kernel was less than impressive today, going to try flashing another this evening if I get a chance. Had unstoppable battery life with cyanogen but missed the frills of Sense. Thanks again for all the input and help
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    i would move all the apps back to the phone and then wipe dalvin cache and cache and re-flash the rom. you will not loose any data or settings. this will allow better install of your apps.

    also give a few days for a kernel to settle in before moving on. battery life can sometimes very from day to day and giving it a few days will give you a better idea on how well the phone likes the kernel.
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  10. jpkotor

    jpkotor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    187
    10
    38
    so is this whole partitioning business and moving apps to the sd card not recommended with the stock sd card? it's an 8gb "class 2". I'm starting to get notifications from my phone saying that my memory is low. I was goofing around and in the apps menu i moved a couple apps to the sd card and now when i try to move them back to the phone it says that there is not enough space even though there is 42 mb free...

    i am using mikG right now... does that have a2sd cooked in as well?

    i gave mikG + aggressive freedom a few days and my battery life was doing great. like 4 days ago my phone started bugging out and reset my homescreens and started lagging up. since then i've been getting like 8 hrs of battery. it goes through like 10%/hr just sitting there. taskmanager doesn't indicate anything running, nor does OSmonitor, and the battery monitor widget indicates its using -50ma the entire time... so i'm kind of at a loss. this seems to always happen to me.
     
  11. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids
    no its not recomended with the stock sd card because when your using a2sd its moving the whole app over to the card and not just parts of it like the stock apps2sd does...so you need a faster read/write speed otherwise your apps will suffer....you at least want a class 6 sd card....but you can get a 16Gb class 10 card off of newegg.com for around 30 bucks...which by the way is REALLY cheap....

    yes mikg as a2sd support....

    go into your recovery and wipe your cache and dalvik cache and reboot...it should clear up the lag issues....thats what i did before i partioned my card and it aways made things run smooth again...
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  12. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    i did it with the stock card and I really didn't notice any issues. I am not a gamer though. I just did it for practice.

    I just ordered that card that DaRayvn mentioned though, I want to know that it is going to have the speed capability when I decide to do this for real and all the time.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  13. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids
    i dont see why it isnt worth a shot with the stock card as long as your NOT using an enormous amount of apps...still, when you can get that good of a sd card for that cheap, then why not get it....its only gonna be to ur benefit when/if you partition
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  14. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    With my limited application, it worked fine. But I'll take Ocn's word for it and got me the new card ordered.
     
  15. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids

    with the new roms coming out, they are just getting bigger and bigger so at some point it seems like your gonna need to partition just to be able to use the rom otherwise your not gonna have any internal storage or memory to even use....guess thats one of the better benefits of aosp lol...
     
  16. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    That is kind of what I was thinking too. I was reading about that bliss rom or the other, what are they, 3.5 roms?

    Hefty boogers!
     
  17. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids

    yah, the nocturnal bliss is sense 3.5...thats what im running now and im hooked on it....its got some bugs but its still in beta so i can live with it lol...when i show people this rom they are like WTF, how in the hell did you get that...LMFAO...i got my card partitioned.....i have 211MB free for internal storage and 226MB free ram....plus this rom already has DT beta4 baked in
     
    ocnbrze and dustwun77 like this.
  18. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    what are the bugs?

    how does it work with it 'baked in'? Do yo not have to flash dt? Do you still have to use a termnial emulator to get it to move them?

    I was surprised that with Mik3d that a2sd support didn't mean that it put the ROM's apps into the partition automatically, as well. That would be a space saver for real!
     
  19. jpkotor

    jpkotor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    187
    10
    38
    what do you mean doesn't put it in automatically? i thought cm a2sd was automatic and dt a2sd required some ... something... can someone clear this up? do you mean not automatic as in when you install an app it doesn't automatically install to sd? because i am under the impression that when you restore an app on titanium if you are partitioned and using a rom with cm a2sd (i.e. mikroms) that they automatically restore to the sdcard...?
     
  20. jpkotor

    jpkotor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    187
    10
    38
    also, what are the recommended partition sizes? that is not in the guide for dummies (obviously they didn't see this dummy coming)


    edit: this dummy just found it, i assume the 1024/2048 for ext2 part is the sizes of the partition... i think i need to just revisit this issue after my anatomy exam.. i'm a wreck lol
     
  21. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids
    the only things i've noticed from regular use is the way some of the text shows up when your using your contacts to find the person you want to call and then select them..sometimes the text is cut off the screen..and my usb wont hook up to my comp....doesnt recognize the disk drive...

    no, you dont have to flash DT...its already in the rom...yes, you still have to download TE to move the apps....

    yah it would save more space for sure...but they are probly incorporated into the sense somehow or one way or another or some crazy wierd crap will happen to the phone lol..dunno....i just know that ever since i started using a partitioned card, i will NEVER go back to unpartitioned lol...its one of the greatest idea's that ever came to a phone lol...
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  22. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    I thought it was, results in either 1 gig or 2 gig. It is up to you? How many apps are you planning on having on your rom? How big is your card in the first place?

    Let me go look over there real quick, thought i saw it.

    Edit: Yep, here, "3.enter 32 for swap, and 1024 or 2048 for ext2, and do the rest for FAT
    4.select upgrade ext2 to ext3"
     
    DaRayvn likes this.
  23. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids
    it sure is in the guide....you select the partitioning and moving apps to the card option....once you unhide it, scroll down to the one that says partition card...and you'll see it ....

    swap is 32
    1024 or 2048 for ext2
    and the rest goes to FAT

    edit: dustwun beat me...he's a madman on the forum today...i think ima grab a beer and let him handle it lol....
     
    ocnbrze and dustwun77 like this.
  24. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    Good info, then i guess ur nandroids are bigger and you have to remember to save your ext and then wipe the ext too when you restore one that uses the partition.

    edit: But, i noticed that superwipe automatically wipes the sd ext when used and it is present!
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  25. DaRayvn

    DaRayvn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    622
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    622
    378
    113
    Grand Rapids
    well techically your nandroids will be bigger with any rom if your card is partitioned...the more apps n stuff you got on the phone, the bigger the nandroid...yup, saving and wiping sd ext, has been thrown into the mix now lol...

    edit...yah i saw that it does too...but i still wipe it manually...i feel more safe doing it then being sorry for not doing it lol...
     
    ocnbrze and dustwun77 like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...