1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

FRG01B Forced now phone is almost unusable.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BigDaddyCool, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. BigDaddyCool

    BigDaddyCool Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    44
    2
    16
    Last week I forced the OTA 2.2 for droid and now my phone is almost unusable. It was "kinda laggy" right after the update but now it is a 2 second delay just to get numbers to type in on the dial pad. It makes me wish I had waited.

    I did notice that EVERYTHING is starting in the background when I look at my task killer. If I kill everything then it runs smooth for maybe 30 secs before everything starts back up again.

    Is my slowness being caused by this or is there something else I can do to make is usable again. I am really hoping that FRG22 fixes this major problem for me as I loved my droid before but almost want to toss it out the window now.

    Kills me waiting 5-10 secs for handcent to even startup.


    Thanks in advance for any suggestions you may have to help me out here.
     

    Advertisement

  2. bzgunner

    bzgunner Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    What apps are running in the background? There could be one that has a bug with froyo.

    Try turning off syncing and background data settings and see if it helps.

    Task manager can also mess up the normal operations of froyo. Uninstall it and see if it makes a difference.
     
  3. BigDaddyCool

    BigDaddyCool Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    44
    2
    16
    Is there a list of Apps that have issues with Froyo?

    thanks for the reply.
     
  4. jdsingle

    jdsingle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    760
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    760
    181
    93
    How many programs do you have installed?
     
  5. BigDaddyCool

    BigDaddyCool Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    44
    2
    16
    75 or so I think....
     
  6. Darkwarrior006

    Darkwarrior006 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    Jan 29, 2010
    211
    10
    38
    Louisiana
    you may have to clear out your cache and do a factory reset. I do that before i load most of my roms and it works perfect. Back up your apps with astro, then do a factory reset and then force the update.
     
  7. bzgunner

    bzgunner Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    The only one I know is task killer that can cause problems with froyo. I would try uninstalling that one first and see how it works.

    You can also just try killing one task at a time and see how it works. Most apps should not be slowing down your phone unless it is something poorly designed, but there could be one or two rogue apps that are causing all the problems.
     
  8. djembeman

    djembeman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    189
    23
    38
    Just doing a Factory Reset/wipe seems to have fixed my problems of lag. The instructions I followed. I also made sure to check the box in settings to back up settings to google and all of my apps automatically downloaded again.

    How to hard reset the Motorola DROID - Know Your Cell
     
  9. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Task Killers that you have installed on the phone (but not actively running kill tasks all the time) will not hurt you or mess with FroYo.

    task Killers that you have monitoring for and killing tasks on a regular basis / routine schedule will degrade your performance, especially if the task keeps restarting itself.

    Moral of the story - don't let a computer program do for you what it thinks is right. Do some reading and realize that task killers are only needed when you get into a bind and have to force close a task. They do you no good for use every day, hour, minute, or any other time interval to repeatedly kill tasks even if you do not use them.
     
  10. crackdroid1

    crackdroid1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    103
    13
    38
    Richmond, VA
    I had the same issues, including random selections and closing of apps without user interaction...Then I went back to Cyanogen 6.0-RC2 with Watermark'D...
     
  11. Outlaw.99

    Outlaw.99 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    645
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    645
    34
    88
    Male
    Patrol / SWAT
    Carrsville Va
    Im not sure its Froyo thats the issue... I manually updated, but started fresh on a clean slate and its been great... I only use like 5 apps though.....
     
  12. BigDaddyCool

    BigDaddyCool Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    44
    2
    16
    I uninstalled some unneeded apps that looked like the were just starting and running. Then removed task killer.

    It is running better. Not great but better.

    If I backup my app with astro and restore it later will I have to redo all my custom settings for that app?
     
  13. xliderider

    xliderider Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1,232
    192
    143
    Where Diamond Head Stay
    Yes, user data and settings aren't backed up in Astro. If you are rooted, Titanium Backup will backup user data and settings.
     
  14. upsjopop

    upsjopop Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    retired
    AZ
    "Moral of the story - don't let a computer program do for you what it thinks is right".

    John that is part of the problem. It is already doing what it thinks is right-loading the key ring app, Amazon and all the other apps that I have never used. Has anyone ever explained the reason for these apps loading on their own?

    John
     
  15. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Hi, John, nice to meet you - I am John. :p

    Actually, no one has ever given me a good enough explanation - and it is one of the reasons I rooted my phone - so I could get rid of those pesky apps, like AmazonMP3, and Corporate Email, that I never, ever use and never plan on using - by the time I am done with my Master's and Ph. D, this phone had damn well better be just a memory... and I ain't doing anything corporate before that, AFAICT.

    Besides, I can always add them back in if I really really really need to.
     
  16. Borntu

    Borntu Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    33
    2
    16
    I had major problems with lag after forcing the update, especially with my 3G. I held my breath and did a factory reset. Everything seems to be fine now. Remember to backup your apps with astro first.
     
  17. jdsingle

    jdsingle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    760
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    760
    181
    93
    You can always flash back to a previous build 2.0, 2.0.1, 2.1. I finally gave up on 2.2 after experiencing some weird SMS problems today. I'll sweat it out till OTA update comes.
     
  18. BigDaddyCool

    BigDaddyCool Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    44
    2
    16
    I think I may have found it...

    The other day I decided to uninstall WaveSecure since I never payed for it.

    When I was done I rebooted my phone. Everything started working really well... I thought "there is no way that program could have done that to my phone".... It was almost as frustrating at it pausing because I had done really nothing and it was working correctly now.

    Well I think i just figured out what the real culprit is..... FLASH BETA 3.... Right after I forced 2.2 I put the beta on.... Well I was in Dolphin looking at a website and started the embedded flash vid and after that my phone started acting really laggy again. Not until it finally closed flash by itself did it speed back up again. My guess is that flash was stuck running in the background and was causing all my lag.

    If this is true I really hope it doesnt happen in the full version.....

    Anyone else having the issue may want to try killing Flash if it is running in the background and see if things smooth out.
     
  19. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    1. I have never seen flash listed in ATK after using it.
    2. I have never seen Flash listed in about phone > battery use
    3. I have never seen Flash listed in Spare Parts as a running battery using task

    SO... not sure how it could be running in the background and affecting anything after it is used?
     
  20. BigDaddyCool

    BigDaddyCool Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    44
    2
    16
    Well that may explain it... It has to "run" in some fashion on the phone.

    So if the phone is not registering it properly and some of it's components are getting stuck in mem then that could be cause the slow downs.

    I am going to test this theory more and see if it holds up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...