1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

FroYo 2.2 for Legend

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by c_man, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. macnpaul

    macnpaul Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    38
    3
    16
    Well after waiting all this time I now find I can't install it, probably related to me debranding it :(
     

    Advertisement

  2. Androidin'

    Androidin' Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    33
    0
    15
    Canada
    If you can't upgrade, wait until the rom shows up and flash the phone like you did when you un-branded it
     
  3. Martin L

    Martin L Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    86
    5
    36
    London UK
    Bugger same issue here too.
    Might flash the vodafone rom and install it that way...
     
  4. nolook

    nolook Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    35
    0
    15
    Halifax, NS
  5. macnpaul

    macnpaul Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    38
    3
    16
    I'm sure somebody will work out a way to fix it, as soon as they do I'm getting rid. The plan was to sell the Legend as soon as it got FroYo - I have a desire on it's way - won't be messing with de-branding again, lesson learned.
     
  6. daemonios

    daemonios Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Woohoo - finally!! I was so anxious that I did the OTA update at work, on 3g rather than WiFi and w/o plugging the phone on the charger. I was afraid the battery would die on me mid-update, but things went fine, it took some 15 mins and completed without errors.

    Already moved all of the apps with that ability to the SD card (in Setting / Applications / Manage Applications). I'm using a live wallpaper to see if it has much of a toll on battery life. Have played with the Flashlight app just for fun. In general it feels snappy, the SMS sort order is fixed, the zoom effects are cool and non-intrusive. Hope it stays this way.

    Now, question: is Legend getting Android 2.3? ;)

    [EDIT]This is on a plain HTC Legend (no carrier branding). I think many problems people are having must be related with rooting/unbranding of phones.
     
  7. thundercant

    thundercant Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010

    Dec 9, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Now that android 2.2 is out through europe, when am I going to get the upgrade for my vodafone legend in AUSTRALIA?
     
  8. jayguevara

    jayguevara Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010

    Dec 9, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Might be pretty soon considering Vodafone UK was one of the first to roll out 2.2 to the legend, even before the unbranded ones got the update!

    Wouldn't hold my breath on that though! Have you considered rooting your phone? Maybe thats an option for you, I don't know.
     
  9. jayguevara

    jayguevara Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010

    Dec 9, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Anyone else having lagging issues after updating to 2.2? The phone seems a bit slow...
     
  10. iamhtclegend

    iamhtclegend Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010

    Nov 24, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Nova Scotia
    Come on, Bell, hook us up!

    I'm sticking with an unmodified phone as long as I can, so I'll wait for the official 2.2 update from Bell, then once I'm bored of that I'll root it and install Gingerbread some time down the road
     
  11. moxon

    moxon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Hello friends,
    I have few issues with my Legend after official Froyo update which are:

    - switching between screens is pain in the ass, its much more laggy,
    - browser became very Nokia-like which means it has LAG and also zooming & scrolling is a very sad story
    - typing in the browser environment makes the keypad laggy

    At first I said "hey maybe its because i need to factory reset the phone" but it didnt help :( Does anyone know how to officially downgrade phone from Froyo 2.2 to Enclair 2.1? I have never rooted the phone, it was only updated first with the official update 2.1-update1 and then Froyo 2.2.

    I would really really be glad if someone could help me to downgrade my phone to 2.1 system as it used to be when I bought it.

    I may sound a little bit dramatic but i really get anoyed by the lag, afterall this is not Nokia phone.


    Thanks for any help in advance,
    Gregor from Slovenia/EU
     
  12. RaDon51

    RaDon51 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I have exactly same issues with my unbranded Legend...

    Downloading apps from market or loading web pages has become very slow.

    I made a factory reset today too but it didn't help. Hope there will be an an update which would fix this.

    Very annoying...
     
  13. mcta

    mcta Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    37
    3
    36
    I'm still waiting for froyo.... T.T.... Still not available in Asia.... gahhh!!! I'm soooo close to the breaking point of wanting to root..... *patience... patience.... patience..... patience......*
     
  14. Martin L

    Martin L Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    86
    5
    36
    London UK
    Finally got it working yesterday on mine and it does work faster then before.
    However I've discovered where the speed issue is occurring.
    Don't move apps to your SD card unless necessary.
    By doing that will slow the operating system down. I moved urbanspoon from my phone to my SD card and things then went really slow. Moved it back to my phone and everything was fine again.
    I'm guessing it's the speed rating of the SD card that is the issue.
     
  15. Fish-Bone

    Fish-Bone Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    78
    38
    23
    Student Brand Manager
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    About the lag issues - had the same problem. But then did the factory reset and left all my freshly downloaded apps on my phone (didn't move them to SD). The phone works like a charm, everything real fast and smooth.
     
  16. moxon

    moxon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    thanks for info, i will try it this way, hope its gonna work,
    cheers
     
  17. jonathan.holvey

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010

    Oct 16, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I received the 2.2 update at the end of last week and I love it. Everything is better about it, especially now that Hotmail ActiveSync works natively.

    The only problems I have are that the weather animations for "clear" and "sunny" show two different sizes of the sun or moon simultaneously while the animation takes place, and that the Music app doesn't remember how far through a playlist you were after restarting the phone.

    I've reportrd the first bug to HTC support and I'm waiting for them to get back to me. Does anyone else heve these (minor) issues?
     
  18. moxon

    moxon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Just got a reply from HTC:

    "Do you have lots of applications on the phone?
    Can you test the phone in Safe Mode? Please power the phone off, while turning it on, press and hold the menu button.
    Can you remove the SD card and check the phone performance?
    Please check in scheduled updates for any new updates."
     
  19. nolook

    nolook Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    35
    0
    15
    Halifax, NS
  20. barbaric_viking

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010

    Dec 13, 2010
    3
    1
    6
    Running Froyo on legend (vodafone branded) and have the same problem of lag, battery drain etc...


    if u turn off the background sync, then the phone does become bearable, but still the phone drains the battery like anything... a 10min call drains more than 10% of the battery...

    some people also claim that it does get better after enabling the USB debug mode (Settings > Applications > Development)...

    found this to be somewhat relevant:

    HTC Legend - post FroYo - 100% CPU issue (more tha... - Vodafone eForum
     
    madsnb likes this.
  21. adi19956

    adi19956 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    771
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    771
    68
    78
    College
    Hampshire, UK
    I don't know what it is about Vodafone... but I had all of the updates you're talking about ages ago! I don't think that 2.05.405.2 is indeed a precursor to Froyo as it said it was fixing some things... can't remember what though :)
     
  22. anandroiduser

    anandroiduser Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    114
    9
    36
    Right! Installed both the prerequisite and then Froyo! All went well, but now there's a problem.

    My data services not working after android 2.2 update (so no browsing, email, friendstream, nothing). I tried rebooting the phone to no avail.

    Anyone got any suggestions??

    I'm on T-Mobile UK.
     
  23. anandroiduser

    anandroiduser Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    114
    9
    36
    K. Cancel previous post. It works 'all of sudden' now. I switched on and off mobile network a few times, not sure if that made a difference.

    Tip for users who face same problem? Patience. :) (in total, my phone took about 2hrs after update before mobile/data services worked again)
     
  24. tovmeod

    tovmeod Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Israel
    what is wwe version?
     
  25. Androidin'

    Androidin' Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    33
    0
    15
    Canada
    Updated my debranded virgin Legend today to froyo today and the speed is finally in range of my Desire. The update was def worth the wait.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...