1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Froyo (2.2)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DannyKiidd, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. DannyKiidd

    DannyKiidd Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    28
    2
    16
    Instead of waiting for my huawei ascend to get the update should i just root my phone or just wait for the update to release.. i'm kind of starting to get very bored of 2.1
     

    Advertisement

  2. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    might as well root it and get rid of all the bloatware, and overclock it...cause aint no telling when the update will come out or even come out, but you should try icarus v1.1 you will love it.
     
  3. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    If you are bored and confident in your skills have fun.

    Its not bad, except random uim errors and no mms.

    You can always flash back to stock and get the official if it comes out.
     
  4. shutterpoet

    shutterpoet Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    84
    28
    43
    Keeping up with my 11yr old son.
    Tucson, AZ still Wild Wild West
    Icarus unless you want to deal with a random UIM card error.
     
  5. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    and i just discovered that in order to get my voicemail i need to call myself. i cant use the status bar notification. it dials the wrong number *99 to be exact.
     
  6. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,912
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,912
    3,195
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    *99 is the cricket voice mail number. Might just be a carrier setting you can change to metro.
     
  7. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    maybe in the coding, not in settings afaik.
     
  8. yass5505

    yass5505 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011

    Mar 24, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Michigan
    If anyone gets any Official news about a 2.2 Update please share. =)
     
  9. boredguy

    boredguy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011

    Mar 29, 2011
    31
    5
    16
    I think a newer update for 2.2 is available and it has mms working. I found it and downloaded it but haven't tried it. If you know more let me know. heres where I found this all at..
    listed at:How to flash and root your MetroPCS and Cricket Huawei Ascend
    Download at:
    Download darklg.froyo.plus.cwm3.fixed.zip for free on uploading.com
    MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service

    there might also be something here:
    http://androidforums.com/ally-all-t...-3-2011-3-40-pm-est-now-easier-than-ever.html
     
  10. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    same version from a few months ago, so theres still no mmsfor that version, which also is c8500, if you want 2.2 i would reccomend cm6, or if you want 2.3 i suggest cm7.
     
  11. BlastGT1

    BlastGT1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    732
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    732
    335
    123
    Doesn't pay enough
    The Gate


    1. The blog you're linking to is from a guy who got put on probation here for advertizement and false claims, and even tried to claim that the ROM he's linking was his, not to mention once proclaiming it as the OFFICIAL 2.2 update.

    2. The ROM you're linking to is the same one the wannabe blogger is linking to, which was originally posted to PrepaidAndroids, and is known to not have working MMS.

    3. The last link you posted is for the LG Ally, and absolutely will not work on the Ascend. And no, whatever you might be thinking about in terms of just using the mms.apk file from it, will not work either.

    This has been rehashed and rehashed over and over on many forums, and it's just gotten old. Either wait for something official, or move on to another phone that has a fully working 2.2, those are your only two real choices.
     
  12. boredguy

    boredguy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011

    Mar 29, 2011
    31
    5
    16
    yeah i kind of figured but im glad you said something. but please dont ever think i will spam or trick link people. So if I ever post anything crappy, I apologize. i didn't waste my time with that site though but I did find something new. seems for real, for cyanogen mod froyo and gingerbread (2.2 and 2.3 android) but let me know your thoughts please. what do you think about this.,

    Cyanogen Mod Guide
    theres also this...
    CM6-Ascend - Prepaid Android
    and this...
    [4.13.2011] MetrOFF v1.1 | MetroPCS One-Flash-Fix [MMS] - xda-developers
    The first one i am most interested in so definitely look at that one. seems for real (the cyanogenasceng,blogspot)
    Seems legit to me, I found all those kinda in XDA first and then somehow it linked me to this. anyone try it? Its not just a launcher right? isnt a launcher just changing it visually, so if you have android 2.1 and a launcher for 2.2, then your OS would just mimic to look like 2.2 but still be 2.1. Is that right?

    And Finally,
    what is the most risky step: rooting it or flashing to a new cyanogen mod (assuming the mod is 100 percent legit) obviously I wont hold you to your word, just a guesstimate.

    Thank you for responding to my last post. I appreciate it. anyway good luck, i'll check back soon.
     
  13. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    lol your a lil late on those ;)
     
  14. boredguy

    boredguy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011

    Mar 29, 2011
    31
    5
    16
    hah how am i late? lol. i'm not trying to rush them out there for anyone. I really want to know what you all know about all this. Like if those links work or are they full of it. and if it works, is there a better way to go or is there another route to take? anyway, its cool. i gotta get some sleep. ttyl
     
  15. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Well if you will notice my, me and many others here are running CM6 and CM7 and have for over a month now lol.

    Theres even thread dedicated to em with the links you post in em many tymes over.

    I just bored n giving the boredguy a hard time dude ;)
     
  16. one80bysummer1

    one80bysummer1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    138
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    138
    27
    43
    CCTV Truck Operator
    Holiday, FL

    Check out the official threads for cm6 and cm7..all your questions will he answered.
     
  17. boredguy

    boredguy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011

    Mar 29, 2011
    31
    5
    16
    hah i know you were. lol. no problem. yeah i havent even had this phone for a mmonth. within two weeks of ever having a smartphone, i am running cm7 now. but mostly i wanted to know if for sure the mms was working. basically the next day after asking i found my answers. but i swear at the time, the answers i wanted weren't anywhere at all. but so far i love cm7. the mms works, but split sms doesnt, and video camera doesnt. i may go down to cm6 since its more stable. everything is backed up. i backup everything like crazy. its almost a problem lol.
     
  18. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    lol you can do what i do and others keep both cm6/7 backup on your sdcard and just switch when you want to...you get the best of both Worlds.:D:D:D
     
  19. BILL88STANG

    BILL88STANG Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    196
    3
    36
    how do you go about saving cm6 to you sd card? id love to set that up so i could go back and forth from icarus1.1 to cm6.
     
  20. ladlr23

    ladlr23 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011

    Mar 30, 2011
    41
    15
    18
    Male
    Student
    El Paso, TX

    Just go into cwm and make a backup of the rom (;
     
  21. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL

    Keep Icarus on your phone and open cwm. (Volume up. Send. Power)

    Scroll to backup/restore and choose backup.

    Using the same card (hopefully you got an 8 or 16gig card) flash cm6.

    After your first boot go back to cwm and backup again.

    If desired do the same with cm7

    The backups are named (date yyyymmdd then time 24hr) in order of time backed up.

    There is no need to wipe when restoring as it is done automatically.
     
  22. reggjoo

    reggjoo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011

    Jan 25, 2011
    229
    19
    38
    Male
    Pgh
    Got cm6 working fine now, gonna take the chance, and delete ADW launcher, replace with Golauncher.mms works , camera, and video works, I don't mind if the phone chooses what I can, or cant move to sd. My voicemail number on cricket is *89, and I have no problems with that, guess cricket chooses. The only problem I see, is that my screen rotation doesn't work sometimes for certain things(very little though). The newest build(42..), still needs work, almost bricked it with that. What I need to know is, are the usb functions bidirectinal enough to accept a usb flash for the camera?
     
  23. BILL88STANG

    BILL88STANG Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    196
    3
    36
    ok once there backed up onto the sd card how do you make them load up?
     
  24. Sinner67

    Sinner67 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    232
    40
    43
    Conway, AR
    You would boot into CWM (volume up, make call, power) and go into backup and restore, and restore the backup you made.
     
  25. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State


    also run fix permissions...
     

Share This Page

Loading...